A Smile a Day – Day 17 – The World!

earth

This week I had a visit from a new country.  No, not a country that just came into existence.  I mean, I got a visit that WP shows came from a country from which I have not had a previous visit.  Hmmm, did that come out right?  Anyway, it was Mongolia.  I usually use Mongolia as an example of someplace that is relatively inaccessible, like the data that is replicating across 2500 servers in 180 countries I might say, “So, it will most likely be available in DC before, say, Outer Mongolia, right?”  I do not mean any disrespect for that country, just that it isn’t as accessible to me as Canada or France.  And yet it is.  It is just a click away and someone from there did click and landed here, in “Trent’s World”.

In my life I have met people, face to face, from all over the world.  I’ve traveled a little.  I went to a huge university with a large “foreign” population (Ohio State University).  I worked as a councilor at a camp that had people from the far reaches of the globe.  On and on, I’ve met people from all over.

But it’s different on line.

I chat with people who aren’t just from over the horizon, they are actually there now, as we speak.  Some are from cultures that are very similar to mine, some from those that are a little different.  There are Christians, Jews, Muslims, Hindus, Buddhists, Sikhs, atheists, agnostics and who knows what else.  There are people with every skin color a human can have. Many speak languages other than English as their first language.  But do you know what?  They are all just like me.  They are humans, with the same wants, dreams and wishes.

I’m sorry, I said “they” when I should say “you”.  You, the people from around this crazy world who happen to somehow land in this little corner of the Internet that I call “Trent’s World”.

And seeing you all, getting to know you, bonding over our similarities while celebrating our differences, that makes me smile :)

 

29 thoughts on “A Smile a Day – Day 17 – The World!

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee – 12/26/2015 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. roweeee

    Thanks for another smile, Trent. I too really value how blogging has enabled me to connect with people from all around the world and get to know them and their worlds. When many people blog, they’re inviting you into their own backyard and sharing it with you in some way and that’s a fabulous opportunity to experience a range of cultures and appreciate all the diversity on our planet. I particularly appreciate it as, like Camille, I am living on the edge of things and bringing up my kids as well as juggling a disability xx Ro

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It is great to talk to people from all over and see their towns, countries and continents from their eyes. And I’m sure it is a huge deal for those of you who are a little removed from the mainstream by location, disability or whatever.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Yep, France is pretty high. One of the top non-English speaking countries (Does India count as non-English speaking since English is a common language there?) I had a few hits from China in 2014, but I know the source – I have a friend who goes to school in the US and her mom visited. I haven’t had any since.

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks Heather! Same here, I’m glad we met. A bit of a kindred spirit, trying your hand at a bit of everything ;) Unfortunately I may be showing some cold weather pictures soon, though, looking at the forecast, it won’t be before January.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      THE Ohio State? I guess so, as in OH-IO and such. Woody Hayes was still alive and had an office on campus when I was there so I say “the legend” a few times.
      I’m glad the post made you smile – it is such a good thing to “see the world” through our blogs!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. camilledefleurville

    I like this “small world”. As I am trapped with my Girls in a remote little village in the countryside, I would be lost without the net and the many visits I receive or I make around the earth! And after having travelled quite a bit, I miss foreigncountries, foreign people, foreign customs, ideas, conversations, etc. Great “click” to talk with Mongolia, Pakistan, or Reunion Island…

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It is great to have the whole world a click away. And with you taking care of the “Girls” I can see why it would be so important to be able to get out of the village on occasion. And having traveled, even more so. Different people, different cultures and we all get along. Taking virtual trips to small French villages or small French Islands in the Indian Ocean, or someplace in Asia, or Africa or South America. It seems like this type of communication should be a great cure for xenophobia.

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
      1. camilledefleurville

        It should be. But sometimes I am frightened by the violence that exists on the web. I have a FB page but I opened it to a very few friends. When I visit some pages, I can see hos people are shedding all inhibition and how angry, violent, hurting they can be. And yet, the web could be a place to meet people and to understand our differences while counting our similarities: we are all human beings.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          I understand. I have too many FB “friends” that are hateful. I try to skip over their posts, but I still see them. But here, on the blogs, I was a lot more selective in the people I follow. They are either good people or good actors. I know there are blogs out there that try to spread the hate and violence. That’s one reason I started my Smile a Day, a small counter balance. It is very, very small, but if everyone I touch with my blog puts up one more kind post a week and all of the people they touch put up one more kind post, etc., pretty soon our voices just might be heard :)

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
  4. 20/20 Hines Sight

    Isn’t incredible how this vast world is becoming smaller with the advent of technology. I recently had a visit from someone in Mongolia as well, but the most surprising was a place called Lesotho and it appears it’s pretty remote as it sits atop an inactive volcano.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
          1. trentpmcd Post author

            Thanks for the info! I think it was also in the news recently (2 months? 3 months) in the news when pieces of the missing jetliner were found washed up on its shores. They were sent off to France to be tested and verified.

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply

Express Yourself

