If We Were Having Coffee – 12/12/15

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hello!  Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a nice strong French Roast, a cuppa tea or other (nonalcoholic) beverage.  It’s a nice day here, a little warmer than is typical for mid-December.  And where is “here”?  Some of you may realize by the mugs at the top of the page that I am on Cape Cod today.  In fact, I’ve already had a long walk on Chapin Beach this morning.

This was a pretty good week.  I’ve still been fighting my cold.  Because of limited daylight and the cold I haven’t been as active outside as usual.  On the other hand, I have still been racing up and down the steep, wooded hill in our back yard, chasing after dogs who think the whole woods is theirs.  For the most part the week was nice, with a bit rain and a cool day or two.

saltwater-marsh-02

I was able to get out for a walk in the woods and saltwater marsh yesterday.  And, as some of you may have seen, I started the morning standing at the edge of Swan Pond, a brackish water pond.

Work has been very busy, as usual.  There is a lot going on.  of course, looking at the last few months, what’s new?

Blogging has been very good.  My stats are really up this month, which is of course good.  And I’ve had some good conversations with some of you.  Being sick meant that I spent more time in front of the computer.

I’ve put up more posts than usual over the last week.  this was mostly due to my new project, “A Smile a Day“.  When i started it I immediately thought of 20 things I could post, so I wasn’t worried.  Of course once I started they all left my mind so every day I have to come up with something.  Most days it’s been easy – things just appear.  After my Coffee Chat post last Saturday as my Day 3 I put up a post about a pop star doing a duet with a young cancer survivor – very heart warming.  Day 4 was a post about my Boxer Fiyero and his ball, this time his “Lazy Dog Fetch”.  Day 5 was a poem about how even in the worst traffic I occasionally see nice drivers.  Day 6 was about the kindness the band U2 showed to the much less known band The Eagles of Death Metal after the Paris terrorist attack.  Day 7 was dedicated to a few quotes by Albert Einstein about compassion and humanity.  On day 8 I dedicated my “Smile a Day” to You, the bloggers and readers that I read and interact with.  And then yesterday, day 9, was a private smile about enjoying the peace of a predawn moment looking over Swan Pond.

Yeah, I did a few other posts last week too.  On Monday I posted about a blogging milestone, reaching my 1000 follower.  On Wednesday I wrote a little about words, but asked a question on how you keep track of the words you write.  On Thursday I participated in “Friday Fictioneers” with a dark short story (100 words).  And then on Friday Solveig post a short story of mine as part of her Advent Calendar and I reblogged it.

A lot of posts!

So, that was about it for the week.  I will most likely enjoy as much of this warm day outside as possible.  I’ll try to stop by and read everyone else’s posts, but can’t make any promises.

And how about you?  How has your week been?  I hope it was good!  If you do a coffee post I’ll try to catch up,  If you don’t do a coffee post, perhaps you should consider it ;)

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before

28 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee – 12/12/15

  1. Master of Something Yet

    Thanks, but I brung me own coffee today. (I really did. I went and made a coffee before sitting down to read your post so we could really ‘have coffee’. :) )

    You’ve been busy! I, on the other hand, am still finding it hard to find the energy to post anything and there are so many things I want to share about the trip. Determined to get one up sometime today.

    On Saturday, we had my nephew’s wedding (my late sister’s eldest) which was a beautiful if emotional affair. I wrote the hymn for the service and so played the piano for that. Thank goodness for the good drugs. ;) Then my husband and I had tickets to see Elton John at a local winery that evening. it was fantastic and one for the bucket list but I have to confess I was in quite a bit of pain by the time we got home and did not have a good day yesterday. But I’m coming good today and enjoying catching up on some posts.

    Enjoy your week!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I know how you feel about coffee in America ;) Elton John at a winery does sound (captain) fantastic (and the brown dirt cowboy). Sorry old EJ albums on my brain. Very cool that you wrote and played a hymn! I can’t wait to hear more about your trip. I hope the ribs are healing well. Take care and don’t break anything else ;)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Diana

    Love that photo of Swan Pond! It’s such a lovely little spot. I’m glad to hear you’re feeling some better, too.

    I’ve been mostly off the computer this week, and it looks like this will be another week in the same vein while I try to get some last-minute Christmas preparations finished!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! It is such a beautiful area, I can’t wait until I can live there full time. Thanks about blogging stats – I know it’s not a numbers game, but it does feel good when I reach a big milestone.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. roweeee

    Thanks for the coffee, Trent. It’s Sunday night here and we’ve just returned home from the school Christmas carols. We had a rug on the grass with friends but I do the school photography and so I was up there viewing the kids through the lens and they were so touching. They went into a frenzy when Santa arrived…as usual. Such fun. They keep me young. My kids are both leaving the school this week. Three days to go. After 7 years, it’s so hard to believe and it’s even harder to believe that we’ll move on and it will be fine.
    Christmas preparations here are very slow but am getting into the mood. Need to clear some room to get the tree in. Yikes!
    Hope you have a great week and I’ll check out more of your smile posts through the week xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      We had to spend an afternoon cleaning to make room for our tree. In so many ways your practice of a new year, a new school year makes so much sense. It sounds like this year is an even bigger transition than usual. Have a great week!

      Like

      Reply
  4. Irene Waters 19 Writer Memoirist

    I’ll join in the Smile a week too but perhaps a day other than Sunday. There is already heaps of linkups we can join in on Sunday. Tuesdays and Thursdays ( Thursday’s twinkles) are light on but it really doesn’t matter – I’d join in anyway. Hope next week sees you back to full health. Love Swan Pond. Is Cape Cod in New York?
    Thanks for the coffee. Cheers Irene

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. Corina

    You know, I really like the smile posts and I am thinking that it would be a really neat blog hop. Maybe after the New Year you can do a Sunday Smile post and have people link up. I say Sunday because I’m into alliteration but it could be any day…maybe midweek. I would join in. We all need smiles and we all usually can share one, too! Give it a thought. I would join in.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. Solveig

    That’s a lot of posts in a week Trent!
    Thank you for the beautiful story yesterday! i do hope many people will read it and then come to your blog and read even more here :)
    Have a great weekend, oh and thanks for the drink.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Too many posts! I think I’m going to try to finish out December with the “A Smile a Day” and then change it to “A Smile a Week.” And Thank you for hosting the Advent Calendar! I just finished reading Corina’s wonderful post. Nice having you for coffee! I hope you have a great week.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

