A Smile a Day – Day 9 – Misty Mornings

swan-pond-01

It was dark when I got up this morning, which isn’t surprising for December.  After my morning routine and breakfast I turned on my work computer.  After doing a few work related tasks I looked out the window.  The sky was beginning to lighten.  Is there a special word for the pre-dawn glow?  Even though I had just started, I had to take a break.  It was still pretty dark, but the sky was glowing, the low hanging clouds dropping almost perceptively.  Within an hour the mist raising off of the pond would merge with the lowering sky and the world would be shrouded in fog for a brief moment, a moment that lasted all morning over the pond itself.  As I walked to the pond’s edge a few Baffleheaded Ducks were startled and flew to deeper water.

I love being outside at dawn.  I love the peace and quiet that most people miss.  Most are still in bed or just getting their first cup of coffee.  Others are in a hurry to get to work where they will be rushed all day.  But me?  I am living a slow life, if only for a moment, watching the still life of the predawn world, a misty morning.  And this makes me smile.  Yes, a private smile today.

Do you have a private place or time that makes you smile?

Photo of Swan Pond in Dennis Port Massachusetts  taken with my phone this morning.  It was bright red so I corrected the color a little, but, actually, the world was bright red.  The phone greatly lightened the scene, but that gives it an ethereal quality, like a photo of a memory.

17 thoughts on “A Smile a Day – Day 9 – Misty Mornings

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee – 12/12/15 | Trent's World (the Blog)

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks, it is very quiet and peaceful here. There is a bench at the landing that’s 100 yards from our cottage and I sometimes go out early in the morning and sit there with my coffee.

      I get what you say about time of day. At your age I was NOT a morning person, though i was beginning to learn, due to my job. In school I tried my hardest to reschedule any class that started before 10.

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! It is a great area, though I’m only here part time – we have a cottage on cape Cod and I try to get down here as often as possible. The quiet and stillness of the dawn is great. In my little village in New Hampshire I don’t notice it as much, but here by the pond I do

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Makes Me Smile | Wasted Days And Wasted Nights

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks Sonya! Yes, it is a very peaceful place. I notice you post very early, even though you are an hour behind. I’m not surprised that you are a morning person.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Corina

    I thought about it for a long time. A private space that makes me smile? Maybe not private but every time I am with my family, it makes me smile. Even when there is nothing to smile about, there is. It doesn’t matter where we are, as long as we’re together.

    In August of 2004, my three kids and I joined another family in Maui. I had been there quite a few times and one of the things I had really wanted to do was to go up to the top of Haleakala Crater to watch the sun rise. My ex didn’t like doing things like that so we had never gone. This time, I was in good company that appreciated some of the same things I did, including watching the sun rise over Haleakala, even though it was 5:00 in the morning and about 10 degrees with gusting winds! And I had all three of my kids with me to share it. It was worth getting up at an ungodly hour and driving up the steep winding road and standing in complete darkness, shivering. That sunrise was magnificent. When I need that memory…that inspiration…I pull that out of my past and set it right in front of me to remind me of the beauty, the perfection, the serenity, and the promise that the moment held. Then, all things are possible, including smiles.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      “private” doesn’t have to mean “alone” :) That sounds like a great memory! I would be up for that, both literally (time of day) and figuratively. I can understand that the best times are often the together times. So your time and place is “anytime, anyplace, as long as your family is there :)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. davidprosser

    I’m not a great sleeper so I’m usually up with the larks, or before they start their early morning coughing. Probably my favourite time is that pre-dawn glow you mention. From my desk I can see the change through the glazed section of front door. That beautiful warm colour that holds so much promise for the day. At the moment of course it lasts for about 5 minutes before the rain descends again.
    Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. Karen

    This is an awesome shot, Trent! The minutes between nights and days (and vice versa) are the ones that hold magic. The quality of this time spans depends on where I am. In town – there’s not so much to report; at the seaside or in the country I really enjoy the peacefulness.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

Express Yourself

