A Smile a Day – Day 8 – You!

You

There are people in the world that use the anonymity of the Internet to abuse other people, to vent, to hurt, to, well, we’ve all seen them.  But there are others who can more easily open up and share.  People who can really say what is on their mind and tell people things, good things, that are hard to say face to face.  I’ll admit I’m one of these.  I’m a bit shy and reserved when I talk to people in the flesh.  Speaking my feelings isn’t the easiest thing in the world.  I often hide my emotion and my opinion.  I don’t know why. Perhaps it is the cultural stereotype that men aren’t supposed to have these feelings, say these things.  Perhaps it is the fear that a positive statement will be seen as a come-on.  For whatever reason, for me it’s easier to open up online.  And what I try to express is the positive.

I’m not saying I’m more shallow on line.  No!  I have the same feelings and it expends the same emotional energy.  I don’t say anything different.  It is easier, though.  For one, you don’t see me turn red and stare at me feet ;)  I can say things here I sometimes wish I could say in the flesh.

Is that how you are?   Do you find it easier to express your positive feelings about someone on line?

I’ve had a few online conversations lately that have made me smile.  People have been open and generous.  Some have showed gratitude, compassion, kindness and friendship.  Although hate often flows over the Internet, I’m a witness that so does love, so does love.

There is a great group of people out there!  So many of the posts I’ve read, the conversations I’ve had, the comments that I’ve read, the conversations I wasn’t part of but witnessed, these things and more warmed my heart.  They made me smile :)  So today I just want to say that all of you reading, commenting here and elsewhere, or writing in your own blogs are a huge reason to smile.  Thank you!

19 thoughts on “A Smile a Day – Day 8 – You!

  1. Master of Something Yet

    Snap. I’m another who finds it much easier to express myself online than in person. I have a friend who has come to expect the follow up email of “This is what I meant to say”. :)

    I’ve met so many wonderful like-minded people through this particular medium (like your good self!), I am thankful every day for the friend who suggested I start a blog. :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks H! You’re one of the people I’m very glad I met.
      I think a lot of us are here because it is easier for us. Our brains work better when we can shut our ears and mouths and think.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee – 12/12/15 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  3. D. Wallace Peach

    What a great post! There is always a choice, and unfortunately, some people use the anonymity of the internet to let their rancor flow. The other choice is to be kind and generous and create positive relationships all over the world – it’s easy to do. I don’t know why anyone would choose otherwise. :-)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Corina

    I always choose to skip the negative Internet content and focus on the positive. I’m always the “mom” and “cheerleader.” When I come across someone that is down or going through a rough time, I try to make things better by encouraging and letting them know they aren’t alone. I wish more people were like that. A lot are but not enough.

    The Internet brings so much. It has the potential to make or break. If only everyone took the opportunity to be loving and supportive there would be so many more smiles!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Yes, to every word here. There are a lot of people who do try, but not enough. I know you are one who tries, that truly feels for others and wants to help. Why shouldn’t we all be a little more supportive? Even if everyone supported everyone else, I’d still smile at every example of helping that I saw!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. Blog Woman!!!

    While I have had a couple of seriously uncomfortable conversations, and a couple comments I’d never approve for my site, but for the most part, I am open with everyone and without question the vast majority of people are warm, kind and supportive. There are so many people I follow that I would love to meet in person. You have a kind heart, and wisdom that I enjoy, not to mention the amazing creativity you come up with regularly. One of these days, I am going to have to find a way to have a blogging world party to meet all. :)

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’m sorry there have been the few bad eggs.. You sometimes show your vulnerabilities on your blog which brings out the best in some, but the worst in others. I’m glad the vast majority are warm and supportive! There are a lot of bloggers I’d like to meet face-to-face too. You’re a lot closer than many of them but still a bit impracticable for sharing a cup of coffee! If you ever do have a blogging world party I will surly come.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. davidprosser

    A few years ago I was taken ill one of the results of which is the inability to communicate with strangers. I haven’t spoken on the phone in years either to make or receive a call. If a stranger tries to talk to me I freeze and I stutter very badly. I think maybe it’s a lack of faith in people, I don’t know. But, the internet takes away the stutter and allows me to say what I want to no matter how many strangers there are or where they are. I can tell anyone anywhere in the world about the benefits of a hug, I can talk about peace and my voice is clear enough that people listen..
    Sometimes in a sentence or a paragraph I have to round things out so that they don’t sound sharp as I can’t manage the voice inflection speaking allows. But, the written word still manages to reach more people than the verbal message would.
    Losing my wife was difficult as apart from my best friend she was also my mainstay for going outside the house.Though I’ve learned to do so one day a week when quiet to see my daughter, much of the time I’m isolated.with just the budgie for company until the internet goes on and I’m not alone any more.
    Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      The online community is important to all of us, but more so for some than others – from what you said it is super important to you, being one of the few places left for you to express yourself to more than a very small group of people. I’m sorry you have all of those issues, but it’s great the Internet can help! We all need that human interaction, the knowledge that someone hears us. I’m glad you have a voice to join the conversation! *Hugs*

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  7. Sarina

    I’m better at expressing myself in writing. At least then I get to review it and check if it makes sense. People so often misunderstand me. I’m awkward in person. I think even in my writing people don’t always get my meaning. Maybe that’s because I generally think in three languages or tend to be more visual.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I get being awkward in person. And being misunderstood. When I write I take more time to choose my words and, as you said, I can check them over before they’re “said”. Still, there are times that I worry I’m being misunderstood, particularly when commenting. And I’m only working with 1 language :) A problem with the written word is often there is that inflection in the spoken word that is missed. A simple statement comes across as terse or even harsh, yet padding it out can make it seem false. Oh well, the important thing is trying. And I do enjoy reading your words, so I’m assuming I get the meaning most of the time, at least in your main posts.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  8. Solveig

    I can express myself far better through writing, I think, after all in a conversation people often don’t listen correctly or interrupt etc.
    I have so far not been deceived by my blogging experience. For once I have come across like minded people and have made made friends who I would not have met otherwise, of who knows maybe I would have?
    I am always saddened when bloggers write about how they have to shut down their blogs or get bullied? It should not be that way. They should not give such powers to some insignificant troll…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I agree. It does seem like I’ve found more people I can relate to here than in my physical community. I don’t want to diminish that physical community of course, and there are people there that I wouldn’t know what to do without. But something about the group of people I’ve stumbled upon on line. And as you said, most of us most likely would never have met without the blogs.
      People react to things in different ways. I’ve had few bullies or trolls stop by here and have ignored them. But others attract more of that kind and have a harder time ignoring them. It does sadden me too that it happens, that some people cave in to the bullies. They need to look at all of the positive people, at the light around here, and ignore those who only know how to destroy. But, as I said, I can’t put myself in their place (the people who give in) so I don’t want to judge. Most of them, after moving on, have reached out to their friends, which I see as a good thing. They haven’t thrown away everything, just tried to get to a place that doesn’t remind them of the pain. That’s not me, but I can understand.
      Me? As I said on this post, I want to look at the positive, at the friends I’ve discovered :)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

