Milestone

Trent

Trent

I’ll admit that there was a time in my blogging career that I followed blogs in the hope that they would follow me back. I would, of course, also follow blogs that followed me. I did the tit-for-tat and hoped others would do the same. Of course I’d choose blogs that held some interest to me. I might follow a fashion blog if they followed me first, but I wouldn’t seek on out. Or a political blog. So it wasn’t serial following, but I did try to follow several a day.

The problem was I started to like to actually read some of the blogs and interact with the bloggers. I usually go through the Reader since, well, going through tons of e-mails isn’t fun so I turn of getting e-mails from the blogs I follow. Following a few hundred blogs and, well, it become almost impossible to read them all. I’m not a hypocrite. If I follow you I will read you. There came a point that I stopped following new blogs.

These days I do add some on occasion. If someone follows me and I really, really like their content or the person themselves, well, OK, I’ll follow. Or if I bump into someone that really catches my attention, sure.

Of course by doing that the number of bloggers who have started following me dropped off. Sometimes I go weeks without any new followers. That’s fine. I might whine that nobody is reading, but I don’t whine that nobody is following. I’m thankful for every single person who does. Although I spend way too much time with the stats I know this isn’t a numbers game. I very rarely even look at the number of followers. But I do occasionally notice.

I know some bogs that started at about the same time I did that have many thousands of followers. I also know one that has less than one hundred. Most of the blogs I follow have far more followers than I do, but some of my favorites have less. One person I follow has over 500,000 followers. Yes, over half a million, and yet she answers all comments and occasionally visits. So blogs I follow have between 50 and 550,000 followers. It doesn’t make a difference. It is the content and the personalities. There are people I like. There are blogs I like. Numbers don’t matter. The people do.

Early Saturday morning I hit 1000 followers. OK, only 700 of them are real followers, the rest are Facebook and Twitter, which bring in about 150 each. And even of those 700 not all are real followers. There are people who changed blogs and so followed me more than once. There are people who no longer blog. There are people who did the massive serial following to try to bring their numbers up (something I never did). On the other hand, there are more than a handful of people who do not have a blog but follow me because they just want to read what I have to say. Even if the numbers are to some small degree fictional, I do see that 1000 as a milestone. One thing, when I send out my next batch of query letters I can say something like, “Every week I try to share a new, original short story with my over 1000 blog followers,” and not be lying.

I just want to take a minute to say thank you! Thank you for reading! Thank you for interacting! I’ve become friends with a few of you and cherish those friendships. And I value each and every one of you. So thanks, and hope you have been enjoying my little slice of life here at Trent’s World!

(Yes, a little over a month ago I celebrated 2 years of Trent’s World and passed 600 posts)

43 thoughts on “Milestone

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee – 12/12/15 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. Solveig

    Congratulations!
    I try to read your blog regularly but well that’s not every day (the reader is not the most reliable tool) I sometimes just type in your website or follow up on a Twitter post of yours. But I try to be here for coffee and at least once more per week.
    I do prefer looking at views and visitors because there are quite some silent followers of my blog. When I started I would follow back, now I am more choosy (I follow 200 blogs or so, which I don’t all read). Now when I follow someone who follows me first it’s mostly because they left a comment or two and followed. But followers who don’t comment? I am sad to say that I don’t have the motivation or time to check out what they are up to.
    Here is to the next 1000! I do hope that some of my followers and some of the followers of my contributors will discover and follow your blog after your guest post will go up tomorrow.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks Solveig! It is difficult to read all of them, even the ones we really like. I do try to make yours and perhaps a couple of dozen others, but after that it is very much hit or miss. I do spend time on the other stats, but rarely look at the number of followers.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Abby Boid

    I love checking the stats, but interactions are way more important. Because of the content of my blog, the Mummy bit, people assume I’m in a numbers game. But what I’ve enjoyed best is seeing how the blog grows organically, who it appeals to, and how different followers respond to different posts.
    My numbers and page views are super low and I think some friends think I’ve failed a little. It’s hard to explain how i haven’t.
    I really do need to earn some money and I amnot daft – blogging could be a way to do that. But that’s a social media game and that’s just not what this blog is about.
    Sorry to go on and on Trent, I’ve been thinking a lot lately about why I blog especially as it takes time and does not really benefit my family at all. I guess I just needed at outlet!
    This post should be about you, not me, so congrats and happy blogging .

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      We all need a release. Blogging is a small one for me, but it is a release. It’s also a great way for an introvert who hides in dark corners during large social gatherings to actually interact with other people. So yes, I totally understand what you get out of it and why you don’t want to try to monetize it. You’d feel forced to try to get more views, more followers and you’d lose what the blog is about. Yours is also one of the types of blogs that on paper I shouldn’t read – often about kids and issues in a different country that are very different than here – but it just proves that it is the people as much or more than the content that make blogs work. Anyway, don’t worry about talking about yourself, that’s part of what makes a blog a conversation and not a static magazine.

      Like

      Reply
  4. D. Wallace Peach

    It took me a while to figure out this blogging thing. I think I’m much like you. I like to interact and engage and don’t bother much if there isn’t any relationship. So I’m choosier about following. It’s more fun if it’s about people. Oh, but congrats on your stats too :-D

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Yep, I’m still learning ;) The longer I blog the choosier I get and the more I try to take time to interact – it’s sometimes hard! We all have limited time and we all have lives away from the blog so it is often difficult to make time to visit or comment or answer comments or, well, you know… Your right it does have to be about the people to keep it going.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. Deb

    Congratulations on your milestone, Trent. I doubt I’ll ever reach that number of followers, and that’s ok. I am not concerned with numbers. The people I have met on my tiny little spot in the blogging world are all super nice and friendly people who have helped me during the roughest part of my life and I’m thankful for everyone of them!
    Thank you, friend. ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks Deb! Having a small number of people you are closer to is better than large numbers of anonymous faces. Of the 1000+ followers WP says I have there are perhaps 20 that I interact with on a regular basis, maybe even less. We run around in some of the same blogging circles so I know how great a lot of the people who visit your site are. It’s great that they can help! And if I have in any small way, it has been my pleasure :)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Deb

        You have helped a lot! I enjoy reading your posts and your comments on mine! You’ve helped in a lot of ways. I am so blessed to have fallen into a good group of blogging friends!

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          Knowing that I help you is a million times better than all of the good stats the blog can give me – it makes me feel good knowing that my words can make a difference :) You’re right, there is such a good group of bloggers out there and I think we’ve all been enriched by each others company.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
  6. Pingback: Monday Coffee | Thoughts by Mello-Elo

  7. eloisedesousa

    Congratulations Trent! That’s a huge deal. I love your blog! It is almost impossible to follow everyone and keep up with their posts but I do try when I get a chance, to visit and say hi. Most times I quickly read the latest post and move on.
    Wishing you all the best on bloggiversary too! 🎉🎶😊

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks Eloise! It is hard to keep up with them all. It’s even hard to keep up with our favorites. I appreciate when you are able to stop by :) I should follow a line from your book and share the posts I like more often :)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  8. charlypriest

    At least you have a reader, in this Mac I´m using I have to shift through hundreds if not thousands of post´s, and to your point. I follow anything and everything, as I see it when I have time (not so much now) but earlier on I never started this blogging thing to get followers but to learn, started mostly with writing and I have discovered a whole new world out there. I call this my free online university, if I don´t count what I pay for the internet that is. And I really don´t care how many people follow me, although it´s obviously nice that people would take the time of their day to pass and see what crazy me has written ofcourse is rewarding, but wasn´t my intention at the beginning and now with over 1000 people following I try my best to catch up with all of them, and fail completely at it since it´s too many people, but weather is a writing blog, photography, fashion, religion, you name it. I can always take away something from it, always if you look in the right direction. And write it down in my little notbook and maybe use it or maybe not now and maybe later on or maybe never. But to me I see it as productive. Specially when surrounded by a completely different life from what people in wordpress live. It opens my eyes to other ways of life´s, quite interesting by the way. And as I said useful for my own writing, even if I don´t write it down to me it feels like it is being stored away in some part of my brain that later on I can go and grab it. But I really don´t sweat the statistics or follows or unfollows. I just write and publish what comes to mind when I sit down in front of the computer for the most part, I have other things written down that are for other purposes than the blog, but for the blog, I just sit down and something will pop up. That´s the fun for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Everyone is different. Which I guess is what you are finding out by reading everyone. I don’t have anything against “serial followers”, it’s just not me. But if you do try to hit as many different blogs as you can, then that’s not really “serial following”. Even following as few as I do I can’t hit them all so I can understand why you wouldn’t if you follow a lot more, but at least trying is great. And yes, a lot of different viewpoints from all over the world. Reading the blogs can be a great study of people, a university of humanity or whatever.

      Like

      Reply
      1. charlypriest

        I have always been fascinated by people, I even fascinate myself. So for me although I don´t have time to read as many as I like, they come into the email inbox and read them when I can. And then after fascinating people then I fascinate myself.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  9. littlebookblog

    helllllo, from a real regular follower :) I follow about 400 blogs and there’s no way I can keep up with all of them but it’s lovely to see the ones I do follow properly pop up and then I get to read all their fantastic thoughts. I recently hit 2500 followers on wordpress which was crazy and yet I wonder how many actually read my posts! But it’s lovely to know some do and hopefully will continue to in the future! HAPPY TWO YEARS BLOGGING :D

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      2500 followers is great! Thanks for stopping by and commenting! Sorry I didn’t answer sooner – WP seems to have forgotten to tell me about a few comments and I’m just discovering them!

      Like

      Reply
  10. sonyaliraphotography

    It has been pretty much the same thing for me. I started out not really knowing what I was doing and someone would follow me and I would set out to see what they blogged about and then follow them in return. There are plenty out there who have 1000’s of followers but to me I once you get tons to follow there is no way to keep up. I follow the reader not the emails there are too many emails and some only have that email option. I do my best to reply and comment back to who ever comments on my blog and I go to some of my favorite ones in the reader and make comments to their post. I think the fact that were still blogging is a good thing.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I agree that we’re still blogging is a good thing. I think I’ve followed you longer than any of the other people I read regularly.

      I know people who follow hundreds or thousands and use the email for those they really want to read. I find scrolling through the reader so much easier. I’ve followed people and later asked myself why, but usually I don’t unfollow them. I just skip by them when I scroll.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  11. Norm 2.0

    I know exactly where you’re coming from, having gone through a similar thought process for following. At one point you hit the wall on how many people you can realistically follow and then you have to make it about quality, people you like, and what you honestly enjoy reading. I guess there’s no one recipe for success, we all just need to try things to find what works best.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I think most people who are in this honestly do come to that point where they have to pull back. I do follow most of the coffee share people because it gives a personal connection – I know a bit about the person and have become interested in them.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  12. Corina

    Years ago, there was a group of about thirty or so bloggers that I belonged to and considered friends. Life interceded for most with marriages, moves, jobs, health, etc. Most stopped blogging but I still don’t unfollow them because from time to time they will post an update (like every couple of years) and I want to know how they are. About four of then still blog regularly.

    I’ve been blogging for many years but only have less than 200 followers. Part of that is because I have my blog set to not sure up in search engines. I wanted to keep a low profile. My ex husband and his wife read my blog, or used to. So I’m a bit restrained about what I write. Not to hide anything but just to keep my privacy. So low profile it has been. There are a few of my followers that have followed me for 9 or 10 years, across platforms. We know a lot about each other and about our families. That’s one of the special things about blogs…making new friends.

    Anyway, congrats on your milestone! I’ll have a drink on the plane to celebrate!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      We all look for different things from blogging. I was not really looking for the social aspect when I started, it was a side benefit. But I get the low profile thing. If you are blogging more for the social aspect having too many people read and comment or having too many people you follow make it very difficult. And I agree, making new friends is a special thing about blogs.
      I hope you have a great flight!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  13. Pleasant Street

    I quit the tit-for-tat method long ago as well. I follow probably 80% poets, 90% writers. I follow a few musicians and artists, and couple who are just interesting, friendly people. I cut my follows down to 300 and might shave it some more. I feel as you do- that if I follow, I want to read it sometimes. But it’s an overwhelming number for me, even down to 300.

    I’m just interested in too much!

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I understand. I think there are about 400 blogs I still follow, but only about 150 or 200 of them are still active, if that. I think there are far less than 100 I see pop up on a regular basis. I don’t read them all every day, but as many as I can and my favorites every day. Since my blog is pretty eclectic I follow a wide variety, though most are creative types of some sort. So yes, I’m also interested in too much!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

