A Smile A Day – Day 5 – Traffic Stop

800px-LED_traffic_light_on_red

Everyone in the world
Seems out on the road
Cars full of people
Trucks carrying a load

We’re all in a hurry
We just can’t wait
To get to our homes
Can’t you see that I’m late? 

The light turns green
And everyone goes
The car in front of me
Starts but then slows 

With a wave of thanks
A car leaves the store
He’s been waiting to go
For ten minutes or more 

My anger evaporates
I feel silly indeed
For the cost of a second
We helped one in need 

For the rest of the way home
With a wave and a smile
I gave some relief
To those stuck for a while 

All in all I felt better
Though some behind may be sore
I lost but a minute
But gained something more

I have on several occasions written about the bad behavior of other drivers, but do you know what? I often see good behavior too. Our first reaction when someone inconveniences us to help someone else is anger, but usually, looking at the big picture, the overall gain is usually bigger than our minuscule loss. When I see a car in heavy traffic helping someone else, with a pause and a wave, I usually sit back and smile. I hope you smiled at my silly rhyme :)

Image found on Google

8 thoughts on “A Smile A Day – Day 5 – Traffic Stop

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It’s like that here too – a lot of commercial type vehicles, like taxis, do run on the “time is money” principle and so are very aggressive in their driving. It is almost surprising when you find a nice one that is a bit more considerate of other drivers.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee – 12/12/15 | Trent's World (the Blog)

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Sometimes the little things can make a big difference. And we’ve all been there, stuck, watching the stony-faced people purposefully block you. That one nice person, which was you yesterday, makes our day.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Corina

    Love this. We get so wrapped up in wanting to be where were going right now that sometimes we forget our manners and safety. If you approach it as “‘I’ll get there when I get there,” we’re so much better off.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      As I’ve gotten older I’ve gotten so much better about it. The thing is, the time difference between being nice and trying your hardest to get ahead is usually pretty close to zip on most urban/suburban streets.

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply

Express Yourself

