A Smile Day – Day 2 – A Bird in the Bush

Tufted titmouse

Sometimes it’s the little things.  We go through our daily lives with blinders on and miss the details of life.  We need to stop and be aware of our surroundings.  Have you noticed?  There is beauty everywhere!

There are some bushes behind my house, an overgrown garden that was planted 100 years ago.  I walk past the bushes perhaps a dozen times a day as I walk the dogs or go out to the car.  Occasionally I hear the chirps and see the colors flitting from branch to branch.  Yesterday i stopped and listened.  I watched.

Tufted Titmouse

The whole area would be invaded by small Tufted Titmouse.  These birds appear almost blue.  They fly away and are replaced by the red cardinals.  All of the birds are small.  They’re common.  So why does the heart sing along with them?  Ah, I don’t know, but does it matter?  There is a small beauty in their squabbles over dried out berries.  I watch and smile.

Look for the small details.  I hope you smile too :)

Cardinal in the bush

To my eyes, a bird in the bush is worth much more than any in my hands for it feeds my soul, not my belly.

19 thoughts on “A Smile Day – Day 2 – A Bird in the Bush

      1. prior2001

        I agree that not cropping have that effect – and fit in with your theme and “noticing” stuff like this. And in my yard there has been this wonderful chirping bird in the early part of the day but I have yet to see him – so loud (maybe just acoustics) and nowhere in sight!

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
          1. prior2001

            Yeah and thankfully this loud little bird still has a nice sound – it is actually so nice I kind of look forward to it- how’s your to do list going? I have three things left on my weekend list!

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      The little birds are so fun to watch. The modern world wants us to always be either on the go or having our nose buried in a device. It is a joy to leave it behind and just enjoy the day, the little things nature brings.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee – 12-5-2015 | Trent's World (the Blog)

Express Yourself

