A Smile a Day – Intro

Dinae and Brady

Yesterday a friend on Facebook put up a post pretty much telling people to stop being such jerks online. This is a person who doesn’t go off the deep-end with political or (exclusive) religious posts. She usually posts very beautiful photography. Even if it’s a spider (one of her favorites), the photos are gorgeous.  She adds beauty to the world, never hate. I put the following up as a comment on her post (I deleted some personal stuff here):

There are days I go in search of the kind, compassionate, loving and beautiful. Despite what we sometimes see on FB and elsewhere, there is much more beauty in the world than ugliness, much more kindness than hate or cruelty. Perhaps we should all make it a goal to make at least one person smile every day.

Looking at the events of the world, including what happened in my country yesterday, I think we all need to step back and look at the beauty. So, you know what? I am going to put up a post every day that will be an attempt to get at least one person to smile.  A smile a day. It might be a random thought or an inspirational phrase. Maybe I’ll post a beautiful picture or tell a story of some kindness I witnessed or read about. I just want to put up some little bit of beauty, kindness or compassion as a small way to counterbalance all of the hate and ugliness that the news seems to force into our lives every day. I’ll try to stick to less than 100 words most days, but why limit myself?

For today, I just want to point out how many people responded to her post. Far more people are sick of all of the name calling and ugliness we see every day than those actually spreading the hate. Most people do want to get along. Most people do want to see the beauty. Most people, deep down inside, are good. Isn’t that inspiring?  Isn’t that something to smile about?

33 thoughts on “A Smile a Day – Intro

  1. Pingback: 2015 Blog Review (The real One ; ) ) | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. gwyncurbygodwin

    You are doing a great thing, keep up the good work. There is way too much hate and ugliness in this world. Like you and your friend I prefer to look for beauty. There is far more beauty if one will only open their eyes and look around. God bless.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks Gwyn! There is a lot of beauty in the world. I’m hoping that if I point a little of it out others will take a closer look and see more for themselves.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee – 12/12/15 | Trent's World (the Blog)

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks Y! If anything I can write or say can make anybody’s life a little brighter, bring a smile where it is needed, well, hey, isn’t that what I’m supposed to be doing as a member of the human race? :)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. prior2001

        Ys sir – and it is really nice to have positivity out there – but be sure to keep it natural and genuine – cos of you find yourself getting bogged down with the daily goal or if your force it – all that smile stuff could lose impact – I do not think you’re will – but I have followed some to where it was over the top at times on done I. A way that was annoying –

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          Yep, good advice. I am a little worried that I won’t find something post=worthy every day, so I plan on having some days that it is just a quick thought, very little things.

          Like

          Reply
  4. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee – 12-5-2015 | Trent's World (the Blog)

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      :) Although I wasn’t thinking of you in particular when I decided to do this, I know you did your exploration of beauty when some ugliness struck your city and its people. I do think there’s more of us finding the beauty than those looking only at the ugly, they just know how to shout louder. Perhaps if enough of us raise our gentle voices we will be heard :)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. brittabottle

    Well said, Trent. We are far too apt to focus on the bad in the world; while being informed about such terrible things happening around us is certainly important, how can we possibly move forward if we don’t see the light and beauty all around us?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      There is so much good and beauty around us if we only take the time to see. We can’t be scared of our shadow or hate our neighbor just because there are some bad people in the world. I know you not only see the beauty but have been giving back to it through your job. I have been enjoying the beauty in the country and it’s people as you share your experiences in Thailand with us.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Corina

        Nebraska. Yup. Lots to do for someone who has never been. We got in yesterday and spent the afternoon and evening getting oriented with out surroundings. Today we go into the different neighborhoods to check them out.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          I haven’t been there since i was a kid and we just passed through then. As a friend of mine put it, after you get out of the city there isn’t a whole lot there except for miles and miles of miles and miles. But the northern prairie can be very pretty in its own way.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply

Express Yourself

