Everlasting Words?

hand

We hang on the words of the Masters.  We remember what has been said by those who have gone before us.  Great speeches, like “I have a dream” or “Four score and seven years ago”.  We remember words from literature.  “It was the best of times.”  There are plays and poetry, such as “How do I love thee”.  Movies, TV shows, pop songs and just about any place words are used contribute to our daily conversation.  There are so many words and lines that everyone knows.  And for reason.  There is little as beautiful as words, little that can move heart and soul with such force as those unreal bits of mind and imagination called “words”.

Some words will live forever, or for at least as long as our species survives.  People will always quote from the books of their religions or  from the likes of Homer and Shakespeare.  Words will be remembered.

Will any words or lines from our blogs be remembered?  Will there be courses one hundred years from now where people will quote what has been said on the virtual pages of Word Press?  Will the things we write on any social media be passed on to future generation?

When I started blogging I thought of it as a way to permanently store my words and thoughts.  Forever people would be able to read what I said.  But blogs seem to be ephemeral.  You put up a post today and it is forgotten by tomorrow when the new post comes up to take its place.  The words seem a chimera, a mirage.  We try to hide the temporary nature of blogging by creating menus to guide people to older posts, but how many times have you seen people actually use them?  People sometimes go up and read my “About” page, but they don’t go through my short stories or poems.

Of course there are blogs out there that make a difference.  There are words from the front lines of revolutions.  There are those who define the extremes of political thought.  There are those who create the news and those that drive the news.  The future will remember the brave people who risked life and freedom to state their opinions or expose the lies of our times.

But will they quote the actually words?

I’ve read so many beautiful words on blogs.  I would hate for them to all be gone.  If I leave a paper book there is a possibility that some historian will leaf through the pages.  Will someone actually leaf through the pages of “Trent’s World” after I am gone?

Words, words words, millions, tens of millions, perhaps hundreds of millions, written every day.  Were do they all go?  Do they even matter any more? Do they just evaporate into the ether?

Where do the words go?

12 thoughts on “Everlasting Words?

  1. herheadache

    I know how you feel. I started my blog because I wanted to write and I thought I would publish it myself, even if that was all there was. I have my grandmother’s diaries. This will be my diary and if only my own niece ends up reading it someday, to remember my words when I am , that will be enough.
    It’s said be careful what you put up online because it will be there forever, but who knows what the future will be. Words have power, if they are given the chance, but the problem is that most times that chance is just missed out on.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      The Internet both has a long memory so, as you said, you have to be careful what you say since it will always be there, but at the same time the Internet has a very short attention span, so something said an hour ago is already buried under thousands of other things being said. But then, I think it is possible that the things we say for our families may stay with them, being repeated the way the old paper diaries have been. And things said by the “important” and popular people may be remembered. When I wrote this I had read something that I thought was very beautiful and I wondered if anyone would remember it in a week, let alone a decade.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee – 11/21/2015 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  3. Abby Boid

    There are just so many words now!! Well, I guess there always has been but now they are so accessible. It frightens me how quick our interest moves on – if I right a current affairs piece 36 hours after the event, people tend not to even look….old news….old words…..even before they are written.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      We live in a short attention span world. There is always something new trying to get our attention. With a 24 x 7 new cycle we don’t have time to process what is happening in the world which makes us do a knee-jerk reaction to anything and everything. So, you’re talking about a “current events” piece on something 36 hours old? These days, that’s an ancient history piece.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          I think it takes everyone a while to get their heads around things. That is the problem – people don’t have a real understanding for what is happening in the world around them because they are in such a hurry to find what’s happening next.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
  4. Sue Vincent

    It is both the beauty of electronic media that anyone can be read and heard and its sadness that beauty and power is lost in the stream. I think there will always be a case for paper or whatever hard equivalent we can find.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I think this is true for many of our arts. Music has become a disposable commodity that has almost no value. The same is happening with the written word. So I agree, I think there always will be a need for some kind of hard copy where the words occupy real space.

      Like

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          Did you read the same BBC article on “pipe-fed, CG music in stores and public spaces” that I read yesterday? Besides the fact that we are always surrounded by music, when music became free (most kids don’t pay for music) it became worthless.

          Like

          Reply

Express Yourself

