Throwback Thursday – 2 years!

2 years

Last night I received notice that I had signed up for Word Press exactly two years ago.  Yes, this is my two year blogiversary!  Two years ago I had no idea what this thing called “blogging” was all about.  I knew I needed to do it, but that was about it.  Of course this makes my very first post even more ironic. The first post was to be taken very much tongue-in-cheek and was supposed to be a humorous beginning.  A few friends saw it, but few others.  So, here it is, in it’s unedited glory, the very first post on Trent’s World, the Blog!

How I (Almost) Invented the Blog

(As my inaugural WordPress blog I thought it would be appropriate to write about – How I (Almost) Invented the Blog)

I bet you didn’t know I invented a lot of devices in everyday use and quite a few trends and fashions.  It’s true.  I’m not famous now because I never followed through on any of my great ideas.  Sometime down the road I would see something I thought of and say, “Wow, if only…”  I’ll give you a few examples, mostly from my younger days.

My parents live close to a busy road with high-speed traffic.  If you see their house you may think I’m exaggerating, but as a kid the road noise used to bug me.  When I was about 16 I decided we needed to put some devices out front.  These devices would have a microphone that picked up the street noise.  They would then invert the phase and play the resulting sound out a speaker at the same volume level as the original sound.  If they were set up correctly this should cancel out the sound so we wouldn’t hear the road noise in the house.  As an adult I love my Bose Noise Canceling Headphones.  The people at Bose obviously heard me describe my invention and stole it from me.

Of course I also innovated in the arts.  I always had a very eclectic taste in music.  I once thought it would be great to combine some of the different styles for a new music.  I was even in a band that played traditional Celtic music with a jazz drummer, reggae bassist, punk rock guitarist and techno pop keyboardist (me).  We were awful, but when I started to hear the new sound of “World Music” I heard some combinations almost as dreadful. To be honest, there are also some World Music artists that are pretty sensational.

And of course I’ve been a trend setter from way back.  Microwave ovens started to become ubiquitous at about the same time there were some major protests, like “No Nukes!” and “Save the Whales!”  I once saw a cartoon where a bunch of confused people held signs that read “Nuke the Whales!”  My young mind, for some odd reason, thought this was the most hilarious thing ever.  I started copying it.  Of course, one place that was easy was using radiation for cooking.  So I was always joking about “nuking my food in the microwave.”  Most of the people around me didn’t think it was funny.  Microwave radiation was not the same thing as radiation from a nuclear bomb or atomic power plant.  I didn’t care and continued to say it.  Almost 6 years later I saw an episode of a sit-com where a teen star used “I’ll just nuke something in the microwave” to get laughs.  So 6 years from people giving me blank stares and rolling their eyes to it being a Hollywood punch line and another 3 years or so for it to be so common nobody ever thinks of saying anything else.

It was at about this time that I decided I should start writing down some of my ideas and publishing them.  I thought I could also write some other stuff, like short stories, philosophy, reviews.  I don’t know why I imagined anybody would care.  I toyed with the idea, but again missed my chance of making history and let it slide by.

A few years later I thought of it again.  I started watching political shows and was always disgusted that the people who were supposedly arguing my side acted like idiots.  All they did was attack the opposing side and rant about ideology with no substance.  Both sides did it, but it embarrassed me that my side would be so low.  I thought about my idea of publishing stories and editorials and thought maybe a series on socio-economic theory and politics would be in order.  By this time the Internet and World Wide Web were actually starting to enter the public consciousness so it would actually be possible.

I started writing articles in my head.  It would be great.  Maybe I could become and expert and stop this awful ranting type of political banter.  Of course I never had time to do the needed research to actually make these articles useful.

In the mid-1990s I set up some web servers (actually intranet, not Internet) and started writing web pages.  After a few years creating pages for others I finally had the tools I needed and started my own web page.  Part of this page was a series of articles.  I coded each one in HTML by hand along with the rest of my web page.  I was also writing web pages professionally and working on Intranet and Internet pages for my day job.  And I was taking programming classes.  I had recently been married and we were starting our life together in a new house and…  I just didn’t have the time I thought I would.  I tried, but the ideas dribbled, then trickled, then stopped.

Of course by that time blogs not only existed but were becoming huge.  People who did them only wrote the articles, they didn’t code them into HTML.  I had been passed up, just as I had with my foray into multimedia a few years earlier (the professional web pages I created were through my company Micro Magic Multi-Media).  Just as I had with almost everything else I had “invented”.

As I was thinking about starting my new blog I took a look back at some of the articles I posted.  There were only a little over a dozen, most posted in the couple of months just after I created the web page, the rest spread out over 5 years.  They were mostly centered on the arts, never politics.  And, frankly, most of them weren’t that good.  Maybe it’s for the best that I missed that opportunity.

So, want to find out what the next big thing is going to be, or perhaps what it already is but I have just missed it?  Then follow this page….

And it went downhill from there ;)

26 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday – 2 years!

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee for The Second Straight Day | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. prior2001

    I halve your mind Trent – and u may not know this but a post of yours this summer encouraged me – it was the book idea you have had since the 1980’s – it encourage me because my 2001 counselor notes book idea has been neglected and sitting – always for good reasons – and when I read that post I realized I am not alone and for some reason that is just be way it is for some of us. Of course need god’s hand in it too – and well – how I interesting this post was – u used nuke so early (and microwaves are not as harmless as the are depicted) and dude – u were writ t blogs wth code??? Whew – stud!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Hey, great, I’m glad I inspired you! I half remember that post. Of course since then I went on to write a totally different book that just sprang to mind unbidden (The Halley Branch). Sometimes the funniest things gel with us and inspire us. And perhaps it is the hand of God that leads us to those thoughts. Who am I to say ;) Bet yes, I’ve been a passive innovator and early adapter for most of my life. Perhaps someday I’ll get there first. But in the mean time, yeah, I’m a computer nerd who codes by hand ;)

      Like

      Reply
          1. prior2001

            Well I live your art! And I am going to lay off the compliments after this one -but my art side loves your originality – and I actually get so tired of artists that merely duplicate or do something so realistic that it loses their essence or uniqueness – so keep doing what u do as you dabble in so many art areas –

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
                  1. prior2001

                    Well thanks for caring to catch them – and later I will have to share more about the name – well actually I will note it now cos it is quick – but I knew for a while I wanted to get away from the other name – my blog had evolved so much from when I first named it that – but all my other attempts at a blog never lied with me – and I thought for sure the highways and trails one was “it” – but nope! Anyhow – even though the word zone is ubiquitous – appearing all over from football to wellness – I really like the “in the zone” feel – and 20o1 was the first time I hit the streets to get some photos – and what I did that year feels like the side of me that likes to blog – cheesy – but “in the zone 2001” feels perfecto – ha! And maybe the back story will help you recognize the name now – ☺️

                    Liked by 1 person

                    Reply

Express Yourself

