If We Were Having Coffee – 11/7/2015

Moog and Morning Coffee

Hello and welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a nice big mug of a strong French Roast.  Rather have tea?  We have that too.  It’s a beautiful day, if somewhat cooler than it’s been.  But, wow, more about that later.

And were am I?  For those of you who have stopped by before you may realize by the photo that I am in New Hampshire (NH) today.  Quick remark about last weekend – yes, i did spend most of last Saturday outside.  There were two long walks on the beach.  I should say “beaches” because i hit two.  there was a nice 4 mile run.  And just plenty of time spent away from any screen.  But I did have to return to NH and reality.  Well, reality but not normality.

This week has been very warm.  Unseasonably warm, in fact.  For early November in NH, 75 F (24 C) is warm.  Despite the warmth, the change of seasons seemed accelerated this week.  On Monday there was still plenty of reds and oranges in the trees.  By Wednesday they were almost totally brown.  Today there are few leaves left of any color.  It was amazing watching the changes occur almost hour by hour.

I know I’m sounding like a broken record, but it has been very busy at work.  This is not a bad thing.  I have been enjoying my new position and responsibilities so busy is good.

I feel busy at home and yet my to do list is growing, not shrinking.  Part of it is that I have taken time out to write, play music and blog.  Add on things i have to do, like make dinner, take care of the dogs, the things that I need to do but the world won’t fall apart if they aren’t done this second get pushed back.  Oh well, I guess I’ll have to take a break from blogging or writing.  By the way, whenever i say “I’m playing music,” or “I played music”, that means with my hands on a musical instrument.  Some people think I’m just sitting around, Pink Floyd cranked up, zoning….

I did quite a few posts this week.  Even though I did a Coffee post last Saturday, I decided to write a short story for Halloween. It is based on some local legends were I grew up.  On Monday I posted some fall foliage pictures mostly taken around my town with a few pictures from Cape Cod thrown in.  On Tuesday I wrote a poem to one who I have never seen.  Not face to face or even an image.  On Wednesday I put up a post about my Hamlet Symphony.  I hate putting up promotional posts, but I did include a video, say hey, go check it out ;)  I posted a photo on Thursday for a Throwback Thursday post, not to be confused with a “throw back Thursday”, since this picture is a keeper. On Friday I posted another short story, one of the darker ones I’ve posted here.

I’m going to try to get out an enjoy the sunshine today!  Oh, yeah, and maybe do some of that work I said was piling up.  Hmm, sunshine, work, sunshine work….  Tough decision to actually act like an adult.

That’s about it.  That’s how my week went.  And how about you?  How has your week been?  I hope it was good!  If you do a coffee post I’ll try to catch up most likely on Sunday or Monday, though no promises.  If you don’t do a coffee post, perhaps you should consider it ;)

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before! (I’ll come back later and make the links ‘hot’)

41 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee – 11/7/2015

  1. roweeee

    Trent, I have perfected the fine art of ignoring what needs to be done and sticking my nose into my computer, which means turning my back on the mess and everything else.
    It’s now Monday here and I think I’m finally getting on the mend. I actually walked with the dogs to the beach from home after weeks of bugs, rain and not being bothered. It was a beautiful sunny day and I ran into a few friends down there. These friends are mostly in the over 70s but we get on well.
    I’ve been getting quite serious about writing my memoir and getting stuck into the Paris leg at the moment. I spent 6 weeks there in 1992 and did a lot of soul searching. It’s coming along well so far…not that I’ve actually started writing for real yet. It’s going to be a long road. I really am trying to step back in time, which isn’t so easy after 22 years.
    Not sure if you knew that I play the violin. I’ve only been playing a few years but I love it…most of the time.
    Hope you have a great week!
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Sometimes my brain doesn’t work – I read so many coffee posts lately that I forget who said they were practicing Vivaldi’s Four Seasons. Anyway, if that was you, I guess i did know you played violin ;) And if it was you, go to the video section on my menu and listen to the Vivaldi. I played all of the parts….. on the keyboard. But I did play them ;)

      How far do you live from the ocean? Our cottage on Cape Cod is a couple of hundred yards/meters from salt water, but almost a mile and a half from the ocean (actually Nantucket sound). Cool your close enough to walk the dogs there.

      It sounds like you might want to write a separate book about your Paris adventure that stands apart from the memoir. As I said, I’ve been there 3 times, but as tourist. I was also an older adult – it sounds like you were little more than a kid at the time. But even with that, there is just something so special about the city.

      Anyway, I hope you have a great week! i hope the weather, bugs, etc. improve so you can get out into the sunshine. Is it getting really hot there?

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks OM! It is a fun prompt, particularly for a someone like me who usually doesn’t post much about their personal life. The coffee share people have also formed a little community within a community.

      Are you back up and blogging again?

      Like

      Reply
  2. Terri Webster Schrandt

    As a leisure professional and educator, you MUST always make time for writing and playing your music. Two creative and important leisure activities, if missed may make you very unhappy. :) Hopefully you were able to sit in the warm sunshine and play!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
      1. trentpmcd Post author

        Yes, they are things that I must do to stay happy. I did get out into the sunshine. Most of the time was walking dogs, but that can be fun – I need my walks every day to keep my sanity. Of course i also hung out in the back yard for a while, but I did some raking so people didn’t realize i was actually goofing off and enjoying the sun ;)

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  3. Charlene Spillane

    The weather in New Hampshire sounds very similar to Ireland at the moment. We too have been experiencing uncharacteristic warm spells – 65F/18C this week – that’s a typical summer day for us! I do appreciate the mug you are drinking your coffee from – McDonald’s Pub in Mayo? Is there a story behind it?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      No real story behind the mug. My mom bought me a set of 4 back when I was college and I still have 2 left. Of course my last name is “McDonald”, so there’s a story there. I’ve only visited your country once and it was a brief, whirl wind tour without a stop at McDonald’s pub. I was there during the winter and was surprised by how green it was. We may be having similar weather now, but in two months or so we’ll have a few feet of snow on the ground.

      Like

      Reply
  4. prior2001

    Laughing at the zoning to Pink Floyd. Bah! But glad you were able to jam – and write – and work! We had nice weather, but rain as well – kind of bummed that it rained when I wanted to catch a few rays – oh and may I please have strong French Roast? Feeling much better this weekend and some Java sounds Bueno ;)☕️

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      In the past I had some miscommunications about what I meant by “I played music”. Let’s just say it was better for the relationship to explain exactly what I meant ;) I hope you were able to get out at least a bit to enjoy the warm. And yeah, I can get you a nice large cup of strong French Roast. Glad your feeling better! Have a a great week!.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
            1. prior2001

              Hey t – wanted to drop back by real quick cos I have been meaning to ask u if you heard of the Christian band Digital Age? Some of the songs have a Pink Floyd feel and whew – some good jams to crank and zone with – when you are. Or actually “playing” your instruments.

              Liked by 1 person

              Reply
              1. trentpmcd Post author

                No, I’ll see if they have something on Youtube to check them out. Thanks for the recommendation for when I’m not actually using my hands to play music ;)

                Like

                Reply
  5. Dale

    I’m up in the Montreal area and we, too, had unseasonably warm weather. Hitting 20°C in the first week of November is practically unheard of. But, I’ll take it.
    Nice to meet you, Trent!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. Irene Waters 19 Writer Memoirist

    Glad to meet you. As your leaves have fallen in New Hampshire our weather becomes hotter in Australia. Glad you got a couple of beach runs in. Although you have to be an adult at times it is great that you can let your child determine a lot of your activities. Adults don’t let us explore new paths that the child is inquisitive about. Go kid….. Have a good week.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Nice to meet you Irene. It’s always fun comparing the seasons to people on the other side of the globe. We have a cottage on Cape Cod and I’ll most likely walk the beach every time I visit all winter – the cold doesn’t stop the little kid in me from needing to look at the interesting shells washed up in the sand. So, yeah, I try to keep close to the child in me. I hope you have a great week.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  7. Corina

    I’m glad you had a good birthday out enjoying nature. And I’m glad your weather is holding where it is. We’ve turned a bit cooler than we had been but more like what is normal for us so that’s a good sign. Mt. Hood is now covered with snow and it’s reassuring to see that every day. We hit a low of 35 in the over night hours this week so the season is changing, that’s for sure! I hope you have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! the birthday went well. Today is a little warmer than I expected, perhaps low 60s. We have had frost a few nights and reached down to close to 20 a couple weeks ago, but no snow. Well, I’m sure Mt. Washington has snow on it, but I’m not close enough to see. I hope you have a great weekend and a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

