Photos from Ohio (Mostly Birds, Eagles)

Back in May I visited my parents.  Well, it was a little more than that since most of my immediate family was there.  Unlike normal people, I took few family pictures.  What I did instead was take pictures of wildlife.

When I was a kid there were few, if any, eagles in the area.  Now they are almost common.  Almost.  I’ve seen four or five at once.  Yes, half a dozen eagles at one time.  But that doesn’t mean every time I look up I see one, not by a long shot!  So part of the picture taking experience was finding eagles.  One was easy, since it was in a nest.  Unfortunately I didn’t get any good pictures of the young chicks this year.  Nor did I get any taking off or landing.

Eagle's nest

Eagle’s nest

There is a little estuary where we hung out taking a lot of pictures.  I got a few OK eagle pictures, but not as many good ones as last year.  I did get some unusual ones, though.  Like a little red wing blackbird chasing an eagle all over the sky.  Or an adult and young eagle who landed near each other.  They each played in the water (bathed?) then the young came over, said “hi” and walk out of sight.  The adult hung out, got in the water again, then flew off.

Two Eagles

Two Eagles

We also saw some critters.  There was a racoon swimming, but my pictures didn’t come out.  the muskrat, though, looks OK.

Muskrat

Muskrat

One cool thing.  I was taking pictures of a Great Blue Heron.  It got up and flew towards us.  It landed in the middle of the stream and picked up a large dead carp.  It swam to water were it could stand and made several attempts to eat the fish.  Finally it dropped the fish, sat for a minute, then flew off.  When you look at the pictures below, if you go through them as a slide show, the Great Blue Heron pictures are in order.

Great Blue Heron trying to eat fish

Great Blue Heron trying to eat fish

I also took some pictures out of the window of my parents house at a bird feeder.  Because of the light and dark it’s like shooting in a studio.

Grackle

Grackle

So, that’s most of the,.  Click on a picture to see the details and start the “slide show”.  I hope you enjoy!

18 thoughts on “Photos from Ohio (Mostly Birds, Eagles)

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee – 10/10/2015 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. roweeee

    Hi Trent,
    As an animal lover, I really enjoyed the photos. Your eagle photos were great and reminded me of photographing eagles when I was driving across the Nullarbor Desert between Adelaide and Perth. You see the eagles feasting on dead kangaroos or road kill (my husband calls it road pizza) on the road and they get quite protective of their food. They raise their wings up looking quite agro as the road trains head towards them. Not a great idea although they seem to fly out of the way.
    I also liked you photo of the Great Grey Heron trying to eat the carp. Many years ago, I came across a pelican trying to swallow a flat fish called a sole and it couldn’t but it wasn’t about to give up. I’m still cursing because I didn’t have my camera!
    Hope you’d had a great week!
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks Rowena! I can imagine the eagles trying to scare off the traffic. sorry, but I’m sure you’re no match for that truck screaming towards you! Last year i got a few better shots of he eagles in flight but I’m not unhappy with these. The pictures of the Great Blues, though, are my favorite. A little over a month ago I got a good picture of one out on the sand flats of a low tide beach, but I like these better.

      Hope you have a great week and weekend too!

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks Zee! Nope, no family pictures this time. And if you want pictures of Trent, I do put up selfies on occasion, but you’ll have to hunt them down ;) Or look me up on Face Book…

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks Sue! There aren’t as many eagles where I live as around my parent’s house. I occasionally see one so high up it’s little more than a speck. There aren’t any eagles on Cape Cod, which is where I see all of the osprey. Occasionally one will fly in for a few days from the “main land” , but I’ve never seen one there.

      Also, thanks for the tweet!

      Like

      Reply
      1. Sue Vincent

        They are very rare here.. less than 500 pairs in the UK and half that number of ospreys. I was lucky enough to see a pair of golden eagles feeding in the Scottish Highlands some years ago, but those are the only ones I’ve seen in the wild.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          Both osprey and eagles have made a huge comeback in the last couple of decades. On Cape Cod they’ve done a wonderful job of encouraging the osprey, which is why I see so many. Bald Eagles have also made a great comeback and their range is still increasing. We have some Golden Eagles here, but mostly out west. I don’t know if I have ever seen any.

          Like

          Reply
          1. Sue Vincent

            The White Tailed eagle became extinct here and had to be reintroduced fairly recently. Golden Eagles are limited to Scotland and Cumbria in the north. The red kites though make up for it here… they are masters of the air.

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply

Express Yourself

