If We Were Having Coffee – 10-3-2015

Morning Coffee

Hello and Welcome! Come on in and I’ll get you a nice big mug of very strong French Roast. I can also brew up some tea or some other warm beverage. You see, after a prolonged summer, with temperatures reaching 80 F/27 C a couple of days this week, is over and we’ll be lucky to hit 50 F/10 C today. So yes, you’ll want something to warm you up, but being morning I insist on temperature heat and not alcohol heat.

Looking at the picture of the beautiful white Moog Voyager, which has just been discontinued (the Voyager, not white Voyagers) some of my long time followers know I’m typing this in my home office/studio in New Hampshire.

As I said, it has been an odd week. It does feel like October now, though yesterday walking in the cold rain I felt I was suddenly transported to mid-November. Strange thing, though, there is little color in the trees. Well, technically, there’s a lot of color, but it’s still mostly shades of green. Wouldn’t be a bit odd if there were no color? Would that be greyscale or just pitch black? Oh, never mind.  Just in the last few days I’ve seen more reds, oranges and yellows coming in, but it is not any place close to the beautiful Technicolor autumn most people imagine we have in New Hampshire. I have not seen the tour buses bumper to bumper heading into the hills. Perhaps it will quickly change and all of the leaf-peepers will spring out of the wood works, or the south, or wherever they come from.

I think I’ve said I love the fall, so I am not complaining too much about the change in temperature. I will complain when the heat bills come in ;) For that reason I’m putting off turning on the heat as long as possible. I shut the last two windows yesterday (I would have earlier if I knew they were open) and will do more winterizing today. I live in a big, old inefficient house which does terrible with heat. So this is the start of the three month winterizing season – I usually finish by the New Years. Sound like a lot of time? Uhm, I tried counting and it takes at least 40 hours to prepare the house for winter.

All of that being said, I plan on being outside as much as possible in the fall weather. I love it! In most ways I am very happy the hot weather is just a memory.

Another busy work week. Things are picking up, which is good. I’m one who actually asks for more work if I don’t think I’m doing enough. If things keep up there will soon be a time I’ll curse myself for asking for more (“Please sir, I want some more.”) But for now I like being busier.

In my writing life I decided to write a first chapter to The Halley Branch, one that goes before the first chapter I posted here. Oh, and for those reading The Halley Branch, he he he, I left it on Friday with a little cliff hanger. The last two chapters will be on Tuesday and Thursday. Haven’t read any of The Halley Branch? You can go to the table of contents I set up!

This week in blogging I posted three chapters of The Halley Branch. I also put up a few photos of the lunar eclipse including a picture of the full moon shortly before the eclipse started. I wrote a short poem to go along with the photos. I also put up a Throwback Thursday post featuring some music I wrote in the 1990s.

That’s about it for this week. And how about you?  How has your week been?  I hope it was good!  If you do a coffee post I’ll try to catch up, though no promises.  If you don’t do a coffee post, perhaps you should consider it ;)

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before!

24 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee – 10-3-2015

  1. Charlotte Hoather

    Its 13 degrees in Glasgow I just checked now on my phone, I like autumn but prefer spring and summer here. Hope you get those windows sorted, what do you do put cling film over them my friend used to do that over sash windows?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Hi Charlotte. It’s a little warmer today, just under 20 with beautiful sunny skies. Of course I’m inside working instead of outside enjoying it ;)
      Yes, I use a thin, clear plastic film. Before I put up the film I use weather sealing tape over all of the seams. This is an old house so the plastic and tape helps a lot.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Master of Something Yet

    It takes you 40 hours to get ready for winter?? Okay, so maybe snow isn’t so exciting.
    As you’ve already been informed, we’ve had a warm start to October. Expecting 32C today, 34C tomorrow. But we’ve also just clocked over into Daylight Savings so the early mornings are dark again. Think I might hold off on the rowing for a couple of weeks until the sun comes back.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      The problem is I have between 45 and 50 windows that have to be prepared. And then a little other insulating. And of course all of the other stuff, like changing clothes around, rearrange the barn (lawnmowers in back, snow blower out front) and all the other things.

      That sounds too warm for me. Our clocks change Nov. 1, when we’ll be ending DST.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. roweeee

    Hi Trent,
    The weather has been a bit odd here around Sydney as well. I’ve just returned from a week’s holiday up around Byron Bay. The weather reports were all doom and gloom and we expected rain and cold the whole time and packed our woollens.There have been a few shark attacks up there so we weren’t too sure about swimming at the beach anyway.
    Well, we had perfect sunny weather and arrived home to heat today.
    Yes, you guessed it. I’m now complaining about the heat. Never satisfied.
    Keep me posted on the leaves.
    Best wishes,
    Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      As I said in the post, the leaf season seems behind this year. It might not be a great one, but we’ll see. I will try to take pictures as it goes along.

      I’m going to be at the ocean again this coming weekend, but I think swimming season is long gone for us. I will try to kayak if the weather is good. But yeah, I know you are heading into the hot months there.

      I hope you have a great week!

      Like

      Reply
  4. Corina

    It has gotten a bit crisp here in Oregon. We still have been getting into the 70s most days but the days we don’t we seem to be quite crisp. I don’t think we got above 64 today, if that. We’ve had some breezy days, too. I’m hoping to get a few more hikes in with or without the boys before our rainy season starts and makes hiking in the mountains undoable.

    Looking forward to the rest of the Halley Branch! I hope you have a super week!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
      1. Corina

        Our forecast is for 70s and not a drop of rain for at least the next ten days. It should be nice but our rainy season should be starting and the fact that it hasn’t yet is kind of alarming. I hope you get in a nice crisp walk this week!

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  5. lifeconfusions

    Hi Trent, I too am looking forward to winters! as you already know how I feel about summers :D
    I love the aura autumn has, the colors and the strange peaceful calmness in the crisp air ! Can’t wait for winters to unfold… ^.^

    My University is starting from Monday so there is that *wipes away the imaginary tears from cheeks*

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Hey Zee, I know you’re not a summer person so I’m sure you are enjoying the change of seasons. For me, I do not want a winter like last winter! It was brutal. But, yeah, I am enjoying the crisp fall air.

      Sorry you have to get off your lazy behind and start your classes ;) And I’m glad you have a sense of humor.

      Thanks for stopping by, Zee. it’s always a pleasure to “see” you. I hope your classes are good and you aren’t too busy to enjoy yourself at least a little :)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. lifeconfusions

        Yeah I heard you guys had a really tough time with snow storms last year, right? I wish I could get little snow here too!!

        So yeah today was my first day of new semester, it went alright. But I’m still in denial that holidays are over I guess . Thanks for always listening to my rants actually, your coffee posts kinda provide me a way to let my steam off sometimes :D

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          Last winter was much colder than normal, with weeks in a row never getting above freezing, and snowier than usual. I wish I could have sent a meter or two of snow your way ;)

          That’s what sitting down and chatting over coffee is all about, letting off a little steam and talking about what is on our minds. I always enjoy chatting with you and don’t mind if it occasionally goes into a bit of rant – we all do that ;)

          I hope your denial isn’t so bad you don’t study. I also hope you don’t get so busy that you don’t have time to drop in on my coffee posts for a chat :D

          Like

          Reply

Express Yourself

