If We Were Having Coffee – 9/19/2015

Morning Coffee

Hello and welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you nice mug of very strong French Roast!  Not your cup of, well, I do have tea if that is your cup of…  Also other beverages, though it is morning so I insist non-alcoholic drinks.

As long time readers might surmise, we are in New Hampshire this fine morning.  And I am not exaggerating about it being a fine morning.  It has been hot the last few days, but the heat should go away leaving it only slightly above average.  This morning there was just a small amount of autumn bite in the air, but it was still shorts and short-sleeve shirt weather.  I did a five mile run and then took each dog for a mile walk (2 dogs = 2 miles).  And now I finally get a few minutes to relax with you with a nice cup of Joe.

It was a typical busy week with little to show for it.  No, no, I’m sorry, plenty to show for it.  I am almost done with the Halley Branch!  I am 2/3 done with the third to the last chapter and about 1/4 done with the last.  Yes, I jumped ahead a while back and wrote the “confrontation” chapter so I knew what i was working towards.  I wrote and posted the first chapter on the 25th of August, so I’m going to finish this book length story in less than a month.

Thinking of the Halley Branch, you may notice that I posted 6 chapters in a row over the last week starting with an unusual (for me) Sunday post.  I have put some thought into it and have decided to slow down just a little, stretch out this last third (or so).  Perhaps increase the tension…  Also give people who are not involved in the story a reason to visit my site and not just click on it and say, “Darn, he’s still in the middle of that stupid story!”  If you are not involved in the story but want to see what the shouting is about, see why my total visits have stopped the nose plunge they’ve been going through all summer and actually started to grow again while I post it, well, you should start at the beginning: The Halley Branch (Part 1)(Edit – And you may have noticed I added a page to my menu bar! Or click here for it.)

I think I said it’s still summer here, so besides writing, I’ve been doing some finish up summer stuff.  Like I mowed yesterday.  I did a little repair.  Stuff like that.  Though I am very ready for the Autumn!  October is usually my favorite month by far.  I love the crisp air, the beautiful colors.  I will not miss the hot and humid weather!  But I will miss the long days.

And I’ve even had a few minutes to play music.  When I say “play music”, I mean with my hands.  I may post something soon, as a break from “The Story”.

If you haven’t guessed, I’m a person who likes doing things.  I’ve been trying to keep up with other people’s blogs, but sometimes i have to break away from the computer – life is too short to be tied to a machine, even if the machine acts as a portal to other people’s lives.

Anyway, that’s about it for me.  How about you?  How has your week been?  I hope it was good!  If you do a coffee post I’ll try to catch up, though no promises since it’s a beautiful day and I’m heading out soon.  If you don’t do a coffee post, perhaps you should consider it ;)

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before!

24 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee – 9/19/2015

  1. Tena Carr

    I’ve been able to read bits and pieces of Halley’s Branch…. Unfortunately time constraints make it difficult to read everything, but what I have has been a good and interesting read.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. roweeee

    Good luck with working on the book and well done for getting so far. I’m not much of a novel reader and prefer non-fiction. Would love to see some photos of those beautiful New Hampshire Autumn leaves though. We don’t get a lot of Autumn colour by the beach in Australia xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks Roweeee! In a day or two I’m going to post some pictures….. of the beach. I split my time between Cape Cod (beach) and NH (forested hills). We’re seeing a little color now, but it won’t be super colorful for 2 or 3 more weeks.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. roweeee

        That would be great. I’ll try to keep an eye out. Living in between those two fabulous places sounds like a dream. Best of two worlds. We live right near the beach here and love it but I do miss having beautiful trees and gardens. We have very sandy soil.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          It is the best of both worlds, though there is a 3 hour drive through often nasty traffic between the two. yeah, the soil on Cape Cod is very sandy, but there are some wooded areas. Right now I’m thinking it will most likely be Thursday that I next post pictures.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
  3. Robin

    I like October, too, and understand about doing things. I get far behind with blogging friends because of the doing. That’s one reason I like the coffee shares so much. Gives everyone a chance to catch up. I’m glad you provided a link to the beginning. As soon as things settle down later this week, I’ll stop by to do some reading. I always enjoy a good story. :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      This weekend has been more summer than autumn, but i can feel it in the air… Yes, the Coffee Share posts are great and I always enjoy catching up with everyone. If you do decided to read The Halley Branch, I hope you enjoy it! Just remember that it is pretty much a rough draft of a book, with all that implies ;)

      Like

      Reply
  4. Corina

    I’m still behind but reading on it on my Kindle. The only problem with that is that I cannot respond on my ereader so I have to wait until I have the laptop set up and respond there. But, as far as the reading, if I send it to my Kindle, it gets read faster because that is always with me and it is far easier for me to read on the Kindle than on the computer or on my phone. I’m enjoying your story. I can’t wait to see where you take it and what you do with the whole thing when you’ve mapped it out.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks Corina! Although it is always nice to “hear the applause” of my readers, Don’t worry about responding.

      When I go to WP on my Kindle I use the Silk browser. It’s difficult to write comments and such, but I HATE the interface of the mobile app.

      Like

      Reply
  5. 20/20 Hines Sight

    I keep saying that I’m going to read your story, but as usual life gets in the way. And it’s been a rough couple of weeks for me. But hopefully things will start to settle down and I’ll have a chance to visit other blogs and read your story.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  6. Solveig

    I will miss it once it is over!
    I can’t have you for coffee today as I am in Germany for the weekend and it would be rude to have my readers join the party at my aunt’s house…
    You are lying though, I have seen you over on my blog this week… Thanks for the honour.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Yesterday I noticed no views from France but some from Germany so I figured you must be there. So, OK, no coffee post from you today :)

      I am trying to hit some blogs every day, I just can’t do as many as I was back in the winter or spring. There’s a handful I try to make and, yes, yours is one :)

      Have a good visit with your aunt!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  7. Deb

    Thanks for the link to your Halley posts. I’ve intended to read them, but you understand how sometimes (most times) life just gets in the way of doing what I WANT to do with what I HAVE to do. Thanks for the coffee. MMMMM–french roast–perfect!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I understand life getting away… I’m planning on putting a page up for the Halley Branch with links to all of the chapters/parts. That should make it easier to find where you left off. Assuming, of course, that you start ;)

      Thanks for stopping by for some coffee!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  8. lifeconfusions

    “Darn, he’s still in the middle of that stupid story!”, That made me chuckle :D
    I wish I was the person who liked doing things but you very well know otherwise. And I’m pretty great at whining about it as well and again doing nothing about it either :D
    It’s a vicious cycle, but what can I say, I enjoy doing nothing. Moving my bones is too much hard work for me now… I have to get myself a Self sufficient Robot I’m thinking Trent…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Well, sometimes doing nothing is doing something ;) I know, you claim to be the world’s laziest person. But then I know you’ll be busy beyond belief in a very short time. Sorry! I didn’t mean to remind you ;)

      Like

      Reply

Express Yourself

