If We Were Having Coffee – September 5, 2015

Coffee

Hello and welcome!  Come on in and I’ll pour you a nice steaming cup of very strong French Roast, hot tea or other beverage.  After a week of very warm nights, it was actually slightly cool this morning so a hot beverage may be welcome.  And were is here, you may ask?  By the Edward Gorey mug (no, NOT Batman!) you should be able to tell we’re on Cape Cod.

I know the first question you’ll ask is, “Weren’t you on Cape Cod last weekend?”  Yes I was.  I was also here on Monday.  Coincidentally I was still here on Tuesday and Wednesday.  OK, I was here all week.  My parents drove out from Ohio and joined us here.

The week went pretty well.  The weather was great – sunny and warm.  We spent most mornings walking on Chapins Beach.  We were luck and hit it pretty close to low tide so we could walk out on the very large sand flats.  And there were walks in the woods, visits to other beaches and places, sea food, time on the kayak, time swimming, etc., etc.  In other words, a typical week on Cape Cod.  Of course there was also time visiting with family.

Blogging was strange again this week.  I didn’t have a lot of time to spend on line and my Internet connection was very limited so I didn’t read as many blogs as usual.  I also only posted one story.  Of course I posted 6 chapters of this story this week, Chapters 5 – 10.  If you haven’t seen it yet, I’d recommend starting with the first chapter.  I hope to set up a page for the story and perhaps put some navigation tools on each chapter to make it a little easier to read in order.

Currently I am thinking of continuing the story as a serial, perhaps another 10 chapters, maybe a dozen.  I pretty much write the chapter then post it with very little editing.  What I most likely will do when it is done is take it as a very quick rough draft and  rewrite it as a book.  I’m thinking that the first chapter here will end up as the third chapter.

Well, that’s about it.  I feel like I’ve been busier on vacation than I usually am when I’m working!

So, how was your week?  I hope it was good!  If you do a coffee post I’ll try to catch up, though no promises since it’s a beautiful day and I’m heading out as soon as I post this.  If you don’t do a coffee post, perhaps you should consider it ;)

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before!

14 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee – September 5, 2015

  1. Master of Something Yet

    I’m hoping to read your story over the holidays (end of term this coming Friday). Life has been too mad to do much blog-related lately. It’s supposed to be 22C today, 24C tomorrow. Summer is on its way. Might be time to get back on the running track. Hey, how did your 10k go? (I think I missed that news.) I did a rowing race last weekend. 4.5km in a mixed quad. Of course, you have to row the 4.5km to the start line first, then do the race. Knackered…..

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Don’t worry if you don’t get to the story – it is LONG, a book, actually. Yeah, after being over 30C last week it has cooled down to around 22, so better running weather (for me). Run went well. I think the official time was 47 minutes 47 seconds. I won’t complain. It was a very flat run, which was nice. I don’t row, but I kayaked every day on the Cape and act like it’s competition ;) I usually go straight out with no pauses. But 9 km of rowing does sound like fun…

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. lifeconfusions

    Hi there Trent, glad you are having busy but fun vacations and getting to spend time with your family, the precious moments to hold forever :)

    Nights are getting colder here too but day is the same old burning sun. See ya around <3

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Hi Zee. It was good week. Unfortunately it has gotten hot again here – almost 35C today and very humid. But it will cool down soon. I hope you are well – see you later.

      Like

      Reply
  3. somemaid

    Kayaking sounds great, I keep meaning to try that one, a project for next year I feel. Autumn has arrived in my part of the world, blazing sunshine last Monday was replaced by rain (again) and cold winds on Wednesday. Your holiday sounds wonderful and I hope you have a great week after enjoying the weekend.

    Like

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Did you see my last week’s coffee post? I had my whole Beatles mug collection up. I only have 6 of them so I’m missing a few, Revolver being the biggest hole in my opinion, but I still love the mugs. I hope you enjoyed the story.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. Corina

    Or weather turned cooler this week, too. Sleeping with the Windows closed and a blanket now.

    Now that I’ve been sending your story to my Kindle, I am better able to keep up. I think your plans for it are reasonable and doable. I look forward to the rest of it.

    Like

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      We got down to 59 last night and it felt great. Of course we haven’t been nearly as hot as you, but it has been very humid all week and beautiful late summer beach weather.

      Thanks for stopping by for coffee!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

