If We Were Having Coffee – 8/29/2015

Beatles and Coffee

Beatles and Coffee

Hello!  Welcome!  Come on in and sit down.  I’ll get you a nice strong mug of French Roast or a cup of tea.  Thinking of mugs, by the Beatles mugs I’m sure some of my more normal visitors know I’m on Abbey Road… I mean, I’m on Cape Cod where this collection lives.

Thinking of Cape Cod, this morning I ran in the Cape Cod Canal Annual 10 K.  My time wasn’t great, partially due to my stretched hamstring hampering my training, but I won’t complain.  I’m not sure of the official time yet, but I put it at about 47 minutes, 40 seconds.  So not awful but not superstar.  And no hamstring issues during the run thanks partially to how flat it was and also thanks to Dottie’s help.

It was another busy week.  I worked longer hours this week which.  Again, I can’t complain, and this next week will make up for it.  Why?  You’ll have to wait for next weekends coffee share to find out ;)

Blogging was strange.  I didn’t have a post on Monday so I had a total of 10 views.  I did post every other day this week, but the numbers still stayed very down, with Wednesday being just slightly below average, but Tuesday and Thursday struggling to get to the double digits.  But for some reason I had quite a bit more views on Friday than the rest of the week combined.

I think part of the reason for the low numbers had to do with what I posted.  As I said, I started slow by missing Monday.  Tuesday morning I had an idea for a story and whipped it up real quick and posted.  Of course it turned out to be just an introduction to a story and still clocked in at over 1800 words.  I continued the story the rest of the week, putting up parts 2, 3 and 4.  All of them are long and they HAVE to be read sequentially.  I usually put up links to all of my posts for the week in my coffee share posts, but today I’m just going to link to the first chapter,  The Halley Branch (Part 1).

How was your week?  Anything exciting happen?  Are you having a good summer?  If you join in the coffee share I’ll try to stop by and see!

It is a beautiful day and I’m going to go out and enjoy it!  I mean, that’s why I stay down here on Cape Cod, isn’t it?  I’m glad you could join me!

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before!

46 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee – 8/29/2015

  1. lifeconfusions

    Wohoo, you deserve a nice and long relaxing day after the run. Congrats on achieving the target :)

    It’s been a while since I looked at my stats. When I started blogging I remember being paranoid about it, visiting it every quiet so often but somewhere along the way I just lost interest in it. It’s strange , I don’t know why…I am however trying to get my readership number up and connect with more people. For some reason haven’t been that successful which is another strange thing cuz it never happened to be before…It gets frustrating, Ugh! So yup the same old lazy weeks of mine… ;)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks!

      I usually look at the stats but don’t pay too much attention unless they do something totally out of the ordinary. My readership has on;y very, very slowly been going up, but I haven’t been following anybody new in ages – I don’t have time to read the people I already follow!

      Like

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          I’m sure you’ll soon be super busy again. Just a word of warning though – I plan on doing a fried brain post on Wednesday ;) We’ll see, but possible…

          Like

          Reply
            1. trentpmcd Post author

              How you feel about going from being able to be lazy to being so busy you don’t have time to do anything else or how you feel about burning brains? I can’t help the busy, but tomorrow I will have the burning brains part of my story ‘;)

              Like

              Reply
  2. brittabottle

    I would LOVE to join you on Cape Cod! I’ve never been out east that far, but I hope to one day and make Cape Cod a stop along the way.

    I’ll have to keep a look out for next week’s coffee share to see what’s so special about this coming week. Enjoy the rest of your weekend! :)

    Like

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Sometimes I hate WP – I never received a notification that you had commented, I only found this when i scrolled down and found it…

      I grew up in northern Ohio (on the shore of Lake Erie) so am a bit of a mid-west person, but I have turned into an East Coaster and could never go back. Cape Cod is very pretty and there is so much to do. We have a cottage and visit all of the time. And if you ever do make it out here, give me a shout and we could meet for a real cup of coffee and not just a virtual one.

      Thanks, and I hope you have a great week as you prepare for your adventure.

      Like

      Reply
      1. brittabottle

        Ah, it’s happened before–don;’ worry about it. Glad you happened across it, though!

        Well, first I have to get to Thailand but I would loove to visit Cape Cod (and the rest of the East Coast for that matter) someday.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  3. sonyaliraphotography

    Glad you had a good run. Enjoy Cape Cod take pics. I have never been a runner. Now you have me looking at my stats daily and I was never that worried about those. One thing I have noticed is this month has been really good for me. Who knows why but I will not complain that’s for sure.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’ve been pretty terrible about taking pictures lately. I’ll have to force myself to take some. Stats are sometimes weird i do pay too much attention to them. Today they are close to a typical Saturday, so maybe it was just one of those things.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          They used to have a great calendar mode on WP that it was easy to see long range trends. With this, though, the numbers were so far out of whack that it wouldn’t be a long range thing, just a short term crash, but the last 3 days have been back to normal.

          Like

          Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks, and luckily the sidewalk didn’t attack me on my run ;) And the writing was fun – I think I wrote around 10000 words in 4 days… (including the chapters I haven’t posted yet)

      Like

      Reply
  4. Diana

    Sounds like you’ve had an incredibly productive writing week! I haven’t done nearly so much writing, unfortunately—have to make up for it over the weekend. Enjoy Cape Cod—hope the weather’s nice!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. Corina

    I will get to the story today. I was gone for three days and couldn’t get an internet connection. While frustrating, that meant that after awhile I have up trying and just enjoyed the beach and hiking with the boys. But I’ll get caught up over the next couple of days. Congrats on completing the run!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          Their latest update has done weird things. Like when I liked this comment it disappeared. I had to leave the page and come back and it showed up again. Not sure what WP is doing, but every time they do an upgrade it causes issue like this.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply

Express Yourself

