If We Were Having Coffee – 8/22/2015

Morning Coffee

Hello and welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a fresh perced cup of a strong French Roast, or we can make it in the French Press if you’d rather – did this morning and it was great.  I also have tea and such.  I know, hot beverages in the summer!  But today is only 82 F/ 28 C and 75% humidity, ie.e. a typical warm summer day.  This last week has been in the mid 90s (well over 30C) and close to 100% humidity.  So this feels cool after the hot, steamy, oppressive weather we’ve been having.

And where is here?  By the Moog Voyager by my coffee mug you might know that we are in New Hampshire.  If you knew that, you may also know I’m posting this very late in the day for me.  Mine is usually one of the first coffee posts up.  Not today, I’ve been too busy.

Yes, for three weeks in a row “busy” is the theme for Trent’s life her in Trent’s World.  I’ve been busy in just about everything – work, play, home, etc.  It is good busy in most ways.  A little tiring, but good.  Again, Like last week I can’t hold something out and say, “This! this is why I was so busy!”  But none the less, busy I was.

back-yard-01

As an aside about weather and New Hampshire, since the weather to day is a little cooler, the dogs have been taking advantage and running around like wild things.  They have race courses and chase each other.  They also go up the hill into the woods (see photo above), so I’ve had to chase after them to bring them back into the yard.  A lot of exercise.  Thinking of exercise, I ran today.  I’m doing a 10K in a week.

So busy on all fronts.

I tried to keep up with the blog, at least posting if not reading.  I have been very bad about reading other people’s blogs this summer. I sometimes try, but usually I don’t have the time.

I did put up several posts.  I started the week with an out of sequence short story.  A bit of a feel good story after last Friday’s dark tale. On Tuesday I posted a slightly more “cosmic” poem.  I didn’t have anything for Wednesday, so I posted a short sentence based on a comment I made on Wednesday’s poem, a little trip into philosophy.  Again, Thursday I had nothing so I reposted one of my very first posts about challenging your creativity.  It was a music post.  On Friday I posted another short story.  This story was actually the third part of a running series.  They aren’t in sequence, they just have the same main characters and  follow similar ideas about a child’s imagination.  Yes, the second two short story week in the last month.

How was your week?  Anything exciting happen?  Are you having a good summer?  If you join in the coffee share I’ll try to stop by and see!

Well, that’s about it from NH.  I’m glad you could join me!

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before!

36 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee – 8/22/2015

  1. lifeconfusions

    Hey I was too busy being too lazy !! Yup typical me ! $_$

    Anyways at least you aren’t melting there with heat, My brain is getting fried here, I’m pretty sure you can write a sci-fi story about it even :D

    I’ve been “Planning” to do exercise or at least walk a little during these holidays but ain’t that happening either :P Aah, I’m a lost cause! LOL

    Hope your weekend went well Trent?! :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      My weekend went very well, thanks Zee! And yes, even the 33, 34 C at 100% is as bad as you’ve had over there parts of the summer – I can imagine your brain being fried – mine would! I lived in Texas for a year and could not get used to the heat. No wonder you’re not exercising if your brain is frying ;)

      So I hope you’re having a good weekend. Maybe I will write a story fried brains :)

      Like

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          I have a niece about your age 9a couple years older) that moved to Texas a year ago. She lived most of her life in northern Maine – think cold. She says she acclimated to the heat and now loves it, that Maine is too cold for her. I’m like you – I’d rather have the cool!

          I’ll have to think of the fried brains story. It might be another episode of the imaginative kid…

          Like

          Reply
  2. somemaid

    Busy weeks can be good, hope you’re managing to get some rest too. I’ve been very bad at reading other people’s blogs this summer, I’ve only just managed to keep up with the #weekendcoffeeshare ones. Intrigued about responding to comments via a mixture of the wp app and voice things. Is this an apple thing or android?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Busy weeks can be very good. The rest has not been very good. Actually, I did sleep pretty well the last two nights since the heat has lifted a bit. I was using Android, I’m not sure about IW, but I think she was also using Android. I’m sure you can do the same with Apple – my wife has an IPad and often dictates things into it.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Master of Something Yet

    I will accept a French Press coffee (aka a plunger coffee here). Thank you.

    Good luck with the 10k next week. I am not back to running. Was going to give the leg a try this weekend but came down with a dose of tonsillitis. Sometimes I think the universe doesn’t want me to run any more. :(

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      One French Pressed/Plungered French Roast coming up! I hope it meets your strict Aussie tastes ;) I’ve just started using it and getting used to it. The taste isn’t as strong as the peculator coffee so I drink more faster and get a massive caffeine buzz. Not good.

      My hamstring is still bothering me a little so my 10K won’t be as fast as I’d like. I’ve been taking it easy on my practice runs, which means my long runs have fallen just short of 10K! On the other hand, my runs have about 300 m vertical rise while the run I’ll do is perfectly flat.

      Sometimes the universe is like that. It tells you to do something else for a while. I’m sure you’ll get back into it.

      In the last few days I’ve been getting a lot of likes for some comments I wrote on a blog post of yours, the one on volunteering in less developed countries. I went and looked and it seems you’ve had an explosion of traffic there. Was it Freshly Pressed or something?

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Master of Something Yet

        Yes, it was. Friday morning. For some reason, some people just click Like on every single comment on the post and then don’t even leave their own comment. It’s annoying, actually. Sorry about the fall out your way.
        Make sure you stretch before and after the run and watch that hammie. :)

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  4. idiotwriter

    Sounds like your week was…. busy :) ha ha! ;) Oddly, mine was too! What exiting thing happened in m my week? Got new phone! And had several interesting conversions with a dear friend. So, all good.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I saw the photos from new phone on your blog and FB – great fun! And what a coincidence, I had some pretty interesting conversations with a dear friend too! Small world, and blogging makes it a lot smaller.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
                    1. trentpmcd Post author

                      Did you install the wp app? It lets you replies into the app. I am doing it right now I did have to go to text and change WP app because it had no clue.

                      Like

Express Yourself

