If We Were Having Coffee – 8/15/15

Coffee

Hello and welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a very strong French Roast or tea.  From the picture some of you may be able to tell that I am on Cape Cod.

It’s been a very busy week.  I don’t have lot i can show for it or anything i can point to and say, “this!” but I seemed to have gone non-stop since my last Saturday coffee share.  Well, a few things.  I am taking on more responsibilities at work, so that takes more time.  And on Tuesday I went to a political event, which is hard to avoid in New Hampshire.

I missed Monday blogging this week.  I did put up a poem on Tuesday.  On Wednesday I talked a little about how presidential politics effects every day life in New Hampshire.  I did a “Throw Back Thursday” post with a school picture from my childhood and a poem about those summer days gone by.  On Friday I posted a very short story.

So, a very busy week with little to show for it.

How was your week?  Anything exciting happen?  Are you having a good summer?  If you join in the coffee share I’ll try to stop by and see!  But,then again, it is nice out and the water is calling my name!

Well, that’s about it.  I’m glad you could join me!

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before!

22 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee – 8/15/15

  1. lifeconfusions

    Well I would definitely like some of that coffee, I need it since the past week had been so crazy busy ! As far as summer is concerned, this summer for me has been pretty eventful, unlike my the same boring static routine so that’s something :)

    And I just saw the throwback photo of you, WOW!! Look at those golden locks and that smile. LOL :D

    Hope your Monday goes smoothly !! :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      We’ve both been crazy busy so I’ll hand you cup of coffee, we’ll each take a sip, smile and then get back to our hectic lives ;) I hope the “eventful” is “eventful” in a good way! For me it has been, for the most part. I mean, all lives have ups and downs, of course. I know you say you are the laziest person int he world, but still, shaking up that boring static routine must have some good ;)
      Yeah, I was a cute kid. And then I grew up. These days if I stick my tongue out when I smile for the camera it is to show my displeasure at having my picture taken.
      I hope you have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. lifeconfusions

        Well for most part it was good but as you said life has it’s ups and downs. Can’t complain ! And yes this is the first time my holidays weren’t as boring as before, There were lot of changes :)

        And hey you’ve still got those blue eyes so that’s a plus point :D
        I hope we also get to see the adult version of this photo with you poking your tongue out :D

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          I’m glad it’s been a good type of busy!

          Yes, the same blue eyes, but a lot else has changed! I don’t know if I’ll post a picture with my tongue sticking out, though I also said I’d never do a music video from my backside, didn’t I? We’ll see.

          Like

          Reply
  2. Prior

    Hey t! Yes – good summer here too! I’ll have some black coffee – but not too robust – maybe half Caff? Ha! Have a great week – Y

    Like

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Not only did I have to moderate this one, but WP didn’t tell me it existed! Oh well, it’s always great to see you Y and I glad your summer is going well! So a half bold/half decaf coming up! I hope you have a great week!

      Like

      Reply
  3. Nancy

    Just popping over from the “coffee share”. Your week’s sounds pretty busy to me! I hope you listened to the water and went to spend time outdoors. Nothing is more rejuvenating than sitting by the ocean.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I did listen to the water! More paddling a kayak around than sitting by the ocean, but still very rejuvenating. I spent most of the day yesterday out and about. Thanks for visiting!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. Conny Kaufmann

    Hi Trent! I loved your poem on Throwback Thursday! Like you, my week has gone incredibly fast and I don’t have much to show for it. Less then you, in fact. I just wrote theatre reviews and got back into the swing of things at work after my time away. Thank you for the coffee and I hope you enjoy your weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Hi! Sometimes it’s like that, like the red queen running as fast as she can to stay in the same place. Oh well, that’s life and it’s better than being bored. Nice to have coffee with you! Was your time away good? I’ll pop over and have a look ;) I hope your week coming up is great!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. charlypriest

    You´re in New Hampshire? That has to be fascinating all the political stuff going on out there. You are probably bored by now, but me being from Spain and watching the news on….yes, Fox News, the American political process has always fascinated me. Actually the whole political system there, believe it or not, is much much better than most of the European countries. At least my take.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Yeah, Charly, it can be fascinating, but it is possible to burn out on it real quick. In some ways it is better, but then there are bad things. There is way too much money involved, for instance. And the whole electoral collage thing is really messed up, but they did it because some of the powerful states wanted more than their fair share of the power. Of course you need to take what they say on Fox News with a grain of salt – if there is a difference between political ideology and facts, ideology wins every time.

      Like

      Reply
      1. charlypriest

        I know Fox News is to the right, I also watch CNN, so ofcourse I can see the difference. By the way, I curious as to why do they picked New Hampshire and Iowa to do the primaries. Do you know?

        Like

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          New Hampshire and Iowa are first because of tradition. Iowa has a caucus, which is different and, in my opinion, strange. The primary is a one-for-one vote. (You’ll have to do a Wikipedia to see how the caucus works).

          Iowa and New Hampshire are smaller states. Both are relatively conservative, but in different ways, but have a mix of “traditional” voters (read “white”). Between the two they represent a large variety of different people in the country but in a smaller population, or at least how people perceived the country 50 years ago. Today it is off since neither state has many black or Hispanic voters. But they are left in place because of tradition and the size is very manageable. Some would argue other states would be better. Ohio, for instance, is much more representative of the country’s population, but there are 3 times more people in Ohio than NH and Iowa combined so it is harder. It would take a lot more money for the candidates to cover Ohio.

          For something most of the 1950s – 1990s, if a Republican won New Hampshire and became the Republican candidate he would win the election. Ironically, it’s only been recent that people (in other states) complain that NH and Iowa have too much power while at the same time it has been much farther into the process before there has been a clear cut winner.

          Like

          Reply
          1. charlypriest

            So they supposedly get a pulse on the countries electorate on states that are smaller where of course money comes into play and they don´t have to spend as much as if it where other states. It is quite fascinating.

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
  6. Corina

    I’m having a slow Saturday morning. I haven’t slept well this week, mostly because it’s too darn hot. Last night it was because the new kitty was on top of me and I didn’t want to move. So slow morning here

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      My cats often insist on sleeping on me and don’t get that I don’t sleep as well as they do when they’re on me. The dogs sleep on me too….

      Sorry you haven’t slept well. Hope you get some rest soon.

      Like

      Reply

Express Yourself

