If We Were Having Coffee – 8/8/2015

Morning Coffee

Hello and welcome.  Some of you may realize by the picture of that great piece of analog equipment called a Minimoog Voyager that I am in New Hampshire this weekend.  I am, and that bit of equipment has been getting a workout over the last week, but more on that later.  For now, come on in and I’ll get you nice, strong French Roast, some hot tea or other (non-alcoholic) beverage.  We can sit and chat about the day, the week, the summer and life in general.  Or perhaps sit on the patio and look into the lush, green woods.

back-yard

It has been a good week, if, as usual, a busy week.  There is work and doing stuff around the house.  I had a dentist appointment.  I broke down and put a small window air conditioner in my office/studio.  I telework a few days a week.  My office is by far the hottest room in the house and regularly gets above 90 F (32 C).  Not the best working environment.  I also worry about my electronics,though I’ve had things in the room since we moved in quite a few years ago.

It wasn’t all work.  I practiced the piano every day and played my electronic keyboards.  Altogether I spent at least and hour and a half every day playing, some days much more.  I recorded a little “jam session” and posted it here, but we’ll get to that later.

Some of you may remember that I pulled my hamstring a few weeks ago.  I still feel it on occasion, but it is getting better.  I’ve been getting back into running and have done three 5-mile (8 km) runs in the last week.  I’m a little slower than i was, but that’s OK.  At the end of the month I’m going to run a 10 km “race”, so I have a little more to go.

Blogging has been interesting this week.  I’ve done things a bit differently, at least to some extent.  I haven’t done a good “Media Monday” post in a while and had nothing for this week, so I put up a new short story, a non-scary ghost story to celebrate last weeks “blue moon”.  I did post a poem on Tuesday.  I started Wednesday by reblogging a post by Sue Vincent who wrote on the Daily Echo about her son.  If you don’t know about Nick, please start with this story and then explore Sue’s site for more of his journey.  Later on Wednesday I posted a video of that freeform “space jam” I was talking about – video at the bottom of the page.  As the ultimate throwback Thursday, I marked the 70th anniversary of the bombing of Hiroshima with a few words about nuclear war.  Continuing the throwback, I reblogged one of the first stories I wrote for the blog.  I wrote and posted a new story for Friday.

Including the reblog, that was seven posts, three short stories including two written this week.  Thinking of short stories, I have written and posted almost 80 short stories for the blog.  I made a second “Fiction” page which just listed the stories with out the picture and description of the main “Fiction” page.  I didn’t put the “Frank” stories on that page, they have their own page.

So, yes, that was my week.  Mostly work, playing music and working with fiction.  And how was your week?  Anything exciting happen?  Are you having a good summer?  If you join in the coffee share I’ll try to stop by and see!

Well, that’s about it.  I’m glad you could join me!

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before!  (I’ll make all of the links hot once available)

As promised, the Video (click here if you don’t see it below)

Only a few saw my last video, so here it is again (click here if you don’t see it below)

 

20 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee – 8/8/2015

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Yes, been very busy! What type of jam, raspberry? A good homemade jam is always great. Thinking of “jam”, thanks for your comment about my little “jam session”!

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! I may do a more polished, less free-form version of it someday. Still a lot of improvised solos, of course. I haven’t listened to Vangelis in ages – I need to dig some of his music back out again.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. somemaid

    I love your music Trent, it reminds me of some complicated choral stuff, lots of layers and depth, looking forward to hearing more. Sounds like the air conditioning was a great investment, not caving in.
    Hope you have a wonderful week, off to play my fiddle now, you’ve inspired me once more!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! I spent quite a few years composing classical so I try to put a little of that in all of the music I write. And yes, the A/C does help! Have fun playing your fiddle and I hope you have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Corina

    It sounds like you’ve had a super week! I don’t blame you for giving in to the AC. Sometimes I wish I could have one here. My windows open side to side and if I put in a window unit, I lose my window as the space around it will have to be covered up/boarded up. And I don’t have anyone to do the work for me. So it’s just fans for me.

    I hope you have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Hi Corina! yes, my week was pretty good. Sometimes I hate A/C, but I had to have it to work in this room. I’ve been using it to cool down the room then turning it off, but it heats up so quick, and this wasn’t a hot week (low 80s).

      I hope you have a great week!

      Like

      Reply

Express Yourself

