If We Were Having Coffee – 7/18/2015

Morning Coffee

Hello and welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a mug of freshly perc-ed French roast or some fresh brewed tea.  From the mug and Moog I’m sure those who visit a lot know I’m in New Hampshire this weekend.

It’s been a pretty busy week.  Again, Can’t put my finger on a lot of it, but I stayed busy.  Sure, i worked, did stuff around the house and exercised, pulling my hamstring a little, but little that’s real specific.  One thing I did was do a fun recording.  The video is posted at the bottom for those who didn’t see it earlier.  I have been playing a lot more music which means I have far less time for writing and blogging.

Thinking of blogging, am I the only one who hates the new Reader?  To me this is by far the worst change they done since I’ve been here.

This week on blogging I put back up my “The Art of Trent’s World” post, but doubled the number of pictures in the gallery to reflect new art.  On Tuesday i didn’t have time to write a poem so I put back up my second post on topic switching (I had a series of three).  The main reason I picked this for a repost is I just did a large scale switch and am now working on music instead of writing.  On Wednesday I talked a little about old-school modular synthesizers and how they’ve made a comeback.  It included the video below that I made this week.  All this about not writing being said, i did come up with a new short story for my Friday Fiction.  I think it’s a bit of creepy fun.

I may participate in the 1000 Voices Speak for Compassion again this month.  The topic is  “Acceptance“.  Hey, why don’t you join too?  The more we have the better!

Oh, another thing I did was pick up   .  I know it’s very controversial.  I’ll let you know what I think once i have time to read it.

So, how was your week?  Anything exciting happen?

Well, it’s been fun having you over!  Thanks for stopping by!  Hope to see you all soon.  I’ll try stop by for all of the coffee shares I can, but it’s going to be a busy day.  I’m out of the door almost the instant i post this.

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers.

Oh, the video:

(click here if you don’t see the video)

14 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee – 7/18/2015

  1. robertmgoldstein

    I just accepted the “Acceptance” challenge on #1000speak. I ran across the blog and realized that I had a piece of writing that seemed perfect for it. I think it’s a good thing to do…I haven’t been around long enough to know if there was a better reader…This one doesn’t seem very efficient…nice to meet you…I found your blog via #1000speak.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I think the topic for #1000speak was pretty good one – I posted my piece and have enjoyed reading others. In the old Reader posts would either open a new page or pop, depending on if you went to the site or read it from the reader. Either way, you never left the reader. I hate having to go back and forth.

      Nice meeting you and thanks for stopping by for my coffee chat!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. brittabottle

    Ahh, looks like you’ve been busy with blogging. I’ve been busy with not blogging, so I’ll have to catch up on your posts sometime soon.

    It’s good to stay busy, though. Sounds like you’ve had a productive week!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I was busy posting, at least to some extent, but not busy reading. That’s one of my things. I know we are supposed to read “all” of the other blogs, but I only do it when I have time and actually enjoy reading. So yes, I’m behind in my reading too. I’m also saying catch up if you want to, but if you don’t have time, I understand 100%.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. brittabottle

        I totally get that feeling of obligation to participate in the community. Sometimes that’s great, and I do love connecting withe everyone on WordPress–but sometimes it just becomes a burden and another expectation I don’t want to deal with. That said, I only ever read posts that I’m interested in and there were a few of yours that were intriguing to me. I’d love to check them out if/when I find the time!

        Like

        Reply
  3. Diana

    Sorry about the hamstring.

    I’m not a big fan of the new reader either—but I don’t dislike it as much as I dislike the new stats pages. I wish there were a way to opt out of some of the changes. lol

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I don’t mind the new stats page as long as they’d give the calendar view back! The stats are next to useless without it.

      Hamstring is awful, I just can’t run now and it starts bothering me if I walk too much.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. Gene'O

    I may do a 1000Speak post, too. I’m thinking on it. And ohhh. A new reader now??? That will give you an idea how long it’s been since I actually looked at my reader. I’m still trying to figure out how to do stats posts using only the new stats pages.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      The new Reader came out this week. The first day or two it was horrid, but I think they tweaked it a bit. Still, I don’t like it. I don’t mind the new stats page, but they recently took away the calendar view – that was, in my opinion, key to understanding the stats – I could see plus and minus for each week and month and it made it more tangible.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Gene'O

        Yep. And they’ve killed my whole way of discussing stats on the front page, because I’ve mostly relied on screenshots of the calendar view to talk about them up to this point. I’m trying to figure out how to discuss my quarterly stats without those screenshots right this minute.

        Like

        Reply
  5. 20/20 Hines Sight

    I’m not a fan of the new Reader. I’m a fan of streamlining, but I feel like I’m doing more searching for things that was once on the front page. I always forget about the 1000 Voices Speak for Compassion. It’s a good topic. Might have to look into it, especially since I know someone that is going through not being accepted by some of his peers now.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I think there are some quirks with the Reader. I like to visit the bloggers site – I mean, we spend a lot of time setting it up the way we want, but it seems WP wants to make you jump through hoops to get there.

      The 1000 is a good topic. I’m not sure what I’ll do, but I’m sure something will spring to mind.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

