Paris

Buildings by the Seine - 2002

I know this sounds like a cliche, but Paris is my favorite city.  I’ve visited three times, the first in 2001 and the last in 2011.

Latin Quarter - 2011

One of the first short stories I posted on Trent’s World was set in Paris and is based on something that did happen the first time I was there.

Avenue des Champs-Élysées - 2001

I’ve also featured Paris in several other posts, including a Haiku.  I even put up a selfie from Paris, 2002:

Selfie - Paris 2002

Of all of things I’ve posted on my blog about Paris, my favorite has to be the video of my Prelude in Ab, Dreams of Paris.   Once also posted a non-musical analysis of this prelude.  If you haven’t seen the video, check it out:

(Click here if you don’t see the video)

Featured Image -- 1291

21 thoughts on “Paris

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Yes, I will try to get farther away from the city next time. But a lot of people come here and don’t get far beyond NY, LA or Boston, so… Actually, I’ve read through books about some areas in France that are so full of history that I do want to eventually visit.

      Like

      Reply
      1. sherloque

        sure but visiting buildings mightn’t be all that lively or challenging. continental Europeans are very different from Americans, think different, talk different, eat different. when you meet people, you get put off balance from your “comfort zone” as the saying goes in your language. next time, if I may suggest, meet and mix with the people and forget the buildings. you’ll go back home a different person.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  1. sherloque

    My comment in 2017 from France. what can i say? nice to know that you guys from America like the main city of my homeland. However :-) only 15 million French people live there and we are 65 million… so the other 50 million live somewhere else in France. Why clinging to the touristy Paris when there are SO MANY beautiful OTHER PLACES in France!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I agree – the last time I was there I also visited the touristy area of the Loire Valley ;) OK, more seriously, I do want to visit more of your country. The thing about Paris is that it is easy – it is easy to make travel arrangements, it is easy to stay in, etc. If I were to travel more extensively, I would want to do it with someone who knows the country. And i will, some day….

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Master of Something Yet

    Loved the video. Paris isn’t my favourite city but I’ve still managed to go there six times in my life. The first was in 1968! I think the last visit in 2007 with our boys was my favourite. I love to see a familiar city through the eyes of children for the first time.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      1968? Were you a newborn? I would have been 4 or 5 back then. I think what I like is that they displaced the modern city a few miles out of the city center so it retains the feel of another age. Thanks for watching the video!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee – 11 July, 2015 | Trent's World (the Blog)

Express Yourself

