If We Were Having Coffee – 6/27/2015

Coffee

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a strong cup of French roast.  From the picture some of you know I’m on Cape Cod.  Actually, I’ve been here all week – this is my early summer vacation.

There has been some rain but for the most part the weather has been great.  Which is good because, well, the beach called.  As did the kayak, sea food, the woods, swimming and other out door activities, places and things.

Oh, and talking about things I did, I ran a 5K “race” in Harwich this morning.  I’m not the fastest runner in the world but I won’t complain too much about running 7 minute 12 second miles (5 K = about 3.1 miles, I ran in 22:24).  I’m planning on a 10K in late August.  I hope I can keep it under 7 minute 30 seconds.  And when I got back I did a very long kayak trip.  Well, long for me.  I paddled around Swan Pond in Dennis Port, down the Swan Pond River to the Nantucket Sound, along the beach to West Dennis Beach, and back again against the tidal current.

One thing some of you may be upset about is most of the times I went out I left the camera in the cottage.  I am so far behind in going through pictures – over a month and about a thousand photos – that I didn’t have the heart to bury myself farther.  Know what?  It can be more relaxing to go out in the kayak or in the woods without it.

Obviously I skimped on the blogging front.  Typically I try to blog through vacations, but half way through I gave up.  On Monday I put up a post I wrote before I left home, a photo post describing a painting.  Sort of.  It was called Images of a Rusty Bridge. On Tuesday I put up a poem telling you all that I wasn’t going to post any more this week.  The post was called The Beach Calls.  And I did answer.

As some of you may know, I try to stay out of politics on my blog.  I do write about compassion and many of you can guess my political beliefs from those posts, but I rarely bring up anything political.  I came very close to writing two political posts in the last few days.  I’ll just mention one.  To be brief, I need to say that I am happy my gay American friends don’t have to be treated as second class citizens, at least as far as marriage is concerned.  If anyone is against gay marriage for religions reasons, all I can say is fine, don’t marry someone of your sex and you’re all set.  If you feel like forcing others to adhere to your religious views, join your friends in the Taliban, I can see no difference between you and them.  You are free to hold your views, live by them and let others know about them, but don’t try to force your views on others.

OK, no more controversial (to some) or political statements for a while.  we are back to the Trent’s World we know and love (I hope ;) )

Well, it’s been fun having you!  Thanks for stopping by!  I hope I didn’t lose too many of you two paragraphs up!  I’ll see you next time.

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers.

 

8 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee – 6/27/2015

  1. zacharykmiller

    I think I would like to start a hashtag: #joinyourfriendsinthetaliban haha! OH… and sometimes it’s good to take a break with the writing and photography. A good time to reset! :) and kudos to you on the running! You would never catch me in a running race

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I think it’s a little long to catch on as a popular hashtag, but then again… hmmm…. ;) Sometimes having a real break is refreshing – I usually keep doing the same thing, so it was nice to get even farther away. I’ve only done a couple of organized runs but think I’ll start doing more and increase the length, like the 10 K at the end of the summer.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Solveig

    I think that 22:24 for 5k is a good time. I have to kick myself one day and get back to working out a bit. But for now I have already managed to get back into a writing habit.
    Lately it does seem that many people have been slowing down with their blogging, nothing wrong with that, we all deserve a break, and that way we can be sure that it’s not an addiction.
    Enjoy the rest of your vacation before heading back to work.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Corina

    Hopefully you didn’t lose anyone and if you did, my guess is it’s someone you don’t mind losing as a reader. I’m glad you enjoyed the numerous calls you answered this week. I agree about the camera, too. Sometimes it’s best to go without one!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      If I lost any followers, they didn’t tell me ;) Actually, one thing I’m very happy about, I’ve seen less kick back on here and on Facebook than on most big news events, almost everything and everyone has been positive.
      It was great answering the beach’s call :) I return to reality tomorrow and work on Monday.

      Thanks for stopping by and I hope it cools down a bit for you! NH is the same that when it gets hot for more than a few days there’s little you can do about it.

      Like

      Reply

Express Yourself

