If We Were Having Coffee – 6/20/2015

Coffee

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I can get you nice strong French Roast, cup of tea or other beverage.  As some of you may be able to tell by the graphic at the top, I am on Cape Cod this weekend.  I’m sure some of you may be a little confused, but, in case you missed it, I have spruced up the place this last week.  More about that later.

It’s been another busy week.  Aren’t they all?  There is work, doing stuff around the house and play.  Yes, I take time to play, which for me means playing my musical instruments.  After my recent studio rearrangement I have found my creativity rejuvenated and have been playing like mad.  Well, like very happy, but at a manic pace.

On the blogging front I’m sure you notice the new theme.  I have a love hate relationship with it.  There are a few things I’d like different, but I’m not sure if they bother me enough to go out and upgrade so I can change them with CSS.  I’ve actually seen quite a few blogs doing revamps this week.  Something must be in the air.  Perhaps it’s that we are on the verge of a new season.

Also if you’ve been paying attention you may have noticed I’ve posted a lot this week.  I started with a rare Sunday post.  My puppy Idina was frightened by fireworks on Saturday night so I wrote her a lullaby, which I posted on Sunday.  For media Monday I put up my art song “Black Eyed Susan” again.  I made some major changes so I don’t call it a repost.  On Tuesday I put up a reminder for this weeks 1000 Voices Speak for Compassion event.  I usually post poetry on Tuesdays, but since I’d posted a poem on Sunday and on Monday I decided it wasn’t needed.  On Wednesday i posted a picture of my reorganized studio.  On Thursday I had two posts.  First I put up a repost about music challenges I used to participate in when I followed a music forum. Later, after I revamped my blog, I put up a post asking what people thought.  My Friday Fiction was a flash fiction story inspired by a photograph.  And then today I put up a post for the 1000 Voices Speak for Compassion event.

I’ve had a personal vision of compassion that I’ve been sharing on most of my posts on the subject:

Empathy is the glue that holds society together and compassion is what makes a group of people a civilization. Without holding our hands out to our fellow humans we become savages. We are all in this together, in a closed system, so we must all help each other. How lonely life must be for those selfish people who don’t realize this simple truth! How lonely for anyone who doesn’t realize that all are our brothers and sisters! How lonely must the self-righteous be!

Find out more about this movement.  See the 1000 Voices Speak blogsite and the Facebook page.  And add your voice to our 1000 voices all speaking about compassion!  To see more for this month or add your post, see the “Linky”

100voiceslogo

Well, it’s been fun having you!  Thanks for stopping by.  I’ll see you next time.

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers.

 

20 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee – 6/20/2015

      1. idiotwriter

        It will come together as you want it too. It is frustrating to not be able to make it JUST so how we want it. I find I find one that meets ALL the needs except – well one or two… never all together. I guess that is how they make money by getting people to upgrade so they can feel they have control over their lives…oops sorry – sites appearance and functionality. ;)

        Like

        Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks for stopping by for coffee! I’m cursed or blessed, depending on your point of view, of feeling the pain of others if I want to or not. Acting on those feelings, though, that’s the hard part…

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          To me that’s kind of odd – it isn’t something I’ve consciously chosen, it just is. As humans we do have a level of connectedness and empathy – if not theater and movies wouldn’t work since we need to feel an emotional bond to what’s happening in order for it to make sense. Perhaps the level of sensitivity of that connectedness is genetic, higher with some than with others. And it could be tied to personality type – I’m extremely introvert so perhaps there’s a connection. Don’t know. I guess we all just assume everyone has the same emotional reaction to events as we do and don’t really stop to think that it could be different for others, and not as a good/bad thing. just a different.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
          1. zacharykmiller

            Odd, yes. My wife tells me everyday it is odd. That’s a good point about people reacting different ways. I could definitely learn to make a point of trying to figure out how the situation will affect people differently. That might help flex my empathy muscles!

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
  1. Diana

    Sounds like you’ve had a good week, even if it has been busy. Enjoyed your thoughts on compassion and empathy—I think you’re spot on.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Corina

    I like the new theme. To me, it looks cleaner/crisper. I hope you manage to get it looking the way you want it! I did notice all the posts this week. I’ve been busy with packing for me trip, travel, and trying to be sociable during my visit so I haven’t been keeping up with commenting but I am reading! Have a super week!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks Corina! I do like the theme but I wish I could change the formatting of the sidebar a little. But still, it’s not a big enough problem to want to go back.

      Totally understandable that you didn’t have time to comment. I’m surprised you time to read!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Yes, musical instruments are like friends. Even electronic ones, particularly the non-digital, have their own personalities and act in their own ways. So cool you’ve been playing more.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Tina

        That is weird… maybe? I’ve been swapping up all sorts of stuff on this blog. Could be one of my changes or maybe someone rated by post badly or some such. Who knows.??

        Like

        Reply
  3. Serins

    I haven’t typed up my compassion post yet. I’ve been struggling with words. One started post is already in the trash. I hope I get them but your personal vision is also where my thoughts are going. :) And yes I’ve noticed you’ve been busy, although I’ve not been able to stop by much . But yay for blogging.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I read and understand when you say sometimes you look at blogging and wonder why you should go on. But then I turn around and have a nine post week. I had a hard time coming up with an idea for this month’s compassion post. I started with how frustrating it can be and moved from there. Of course watching Jon Stewart was a huge inspiration for me. Something should come up to inspire you to write.

      Like

      Reply

Express Yourself

