And Our Voices Must be Heard! – #1000Speak

malala-quote-daily-show

I’ve been very depressed about our society lately. I don’t read Facebook often, but every time I open it I see some hateful statement. Meme’s that imply all African Americans are lazy people who “steal” hardworking people’s paychecks in the form of welfare and taxes. I see bitter hatred against Muslims. After the tragic shooting in South Carolina the other night I’ve seen posts saying that that it wasn’t an act of terrorism but a tragedy that the people in the bible study group weren’t all carrying assault weapons like they should have been. I’ve even heard presidential candidates calling the act of terror an “accident”.

Turning to the news I see that across the world those who have are shaking their fists at those who have not instead of reaching an open hand to help them. I’ve seen the hatreds spreading, dividing the world into a new cold war. I see the extreme violence of ISIS. I have read reports that most US law enforcement agencies, from the FBI to small town police forces, feel there is a huge threat posed by extreme right wing, anti-government and racist groups, which is perhaps the reason that every time there is violence by someone on the far right I see so much more hatred aimed at Muslims – there are people who want to us to take our eyes off of the real threat. I have seen that 97% of scientist believe climate change is caused by humans and yet over half of the people in the US don’t believe it, that the vast majority of money in the world is owned by people whose special interest is served by ensure there are no changes. I’ve seen reports by several groups of scientist that unless we make changes humans will become extinct within the next 100 years.

It is all so very depressing – greed and hatred are rising at alarming rates and it seems nothing can be done. We will just have to wait until the next shooting, something that can’t be called an act of terror unless committed by a Muslim.  We wait and watch the hatred multiply.

But then there have been a few shining lights out there. What can you say about a normal white woman risking her life to follow the South Carolina murderer to ensure the man was taken off of the streets? I can say “hero”.  Or the groups of black and whites standing together singing “We Shall Overcome”? How about a pope that spends his time championing the poor, common person and the world they live in? Now that’s a big voice to counter even if he doesn’t have the money the oil industry can muster.

One place I’ve found solstice is The Daily Show. I like Jon Stewart, but after his show following the South Carolina shootings, I like him even more. He gave an un-funny opening monolog about the problems of racism and violence in America. Everyone needs to watch it.  And then he had Malala on that same show. At times she seems like a normal little girl, and yet what she has done and what she has said goes far beyond her age. If you haven’t seen it, please go watch the video.

I look at that quote at the top of the page and ask if I am doing enough. The answer is no. I need to say more. When I read those hateful comments and posts on Facebook I need to put up loving and compassionate posts in return. I can’t stand back and just let hatred win.  I can’t let a teenager take it upon her shoulders while I sit back and do nothing.

I will try to do more. My question is, will you join me?

This post is part of the 1000 Voices Speak for Compassion.  I’ve had a personal vision of compassion that I’ve been sharing on most of my posts on the subject:

Empathy is the glue that holds society together and compassion is what makes a group of people a civilization. Without holding our hands out to our fellow humans we become savages. We are all in this together, in a closed system, so we must all help each other. How lonely life must be for those selfish people who don’t realize this simple truth! How lonely for anyone who doesn’t realize that all are our brothers and sisters! How lonely must the self-righteous be!

Find out more about this movement.  See the 1000 Voices Speak blogsite and the Facebook page.  And add your voice to our 1000 voices all speaking about compassion!  To see more for this month or add your post, see the “Linky”

100voiceslogo

22 thoughts on “And Our Voices Must be Heard! – #1000Speak

  1. idiotwriter

    Beautiful post Trent.
    The people who need to do something are the ones running the countries.. maybe if we all pushed for reform of all our voting systems that suck ass we would get somewhere as then our voices would really heard and not just as echoes in cyberspace?
    Yes it IS depressing… but-
    What we need to do is think about it logically? AS WELL as putting up pretty posts of positivity.
    We need to CALL out the wrong – but we need to know what the wrong IS and where it stems from. DO we know? Where does the power lie?
    Because UNFORTUNATELY pretty words never solved much…yes yes I know – the pen is mightier than the sword – but we still have to wield it in the right direction at – the right people.
    Do we even KNOW who we should direct all this at any more?
    SOMEONE has to be held responsible ultimately to resolve it all. Who do we choose?
    Where does the hatred come from and why?
    These are questions we need to find answers to if we are to DO anything.
    In the meantime – I never saw a nice quote stop a bullet….
    Sorry – I just sometimes wonder what would happen if the good people of the world blew away the evil shits… but then – that would take us back to square one… so how do we change the evil mindset of people to be ones of compassion and love?
    No – I don’t have an answer – but I might one day. SO yeah – all we can do NOW is to find like-minded people to encourage to remain positive in the face of all the negativity around us in this world… as we seek the truth – the deep truth – not the fundamental basic shit..but the truth unity us humanity… can we stop evil with a word? I hope so. I dont REALLY think it works that way though… but we ALLOWED it to take over and so – we pay the price of our ‘freedom’.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      The problem is I am preaching to the choir. The people with different mind set won’t read what I write and if they did they’d discount it as lies and propaganda. The gulf seems to be wider than ever. And I’m just looking here – it is a world wide problem and needs world wide solutions. Ah well, won’t figure it out tonight.

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks for the kind comments. It is often very hard to face the world with peace and compassion when the world seems so full of hate yet we must.

      I read your post. In my country people are expected to forge a life for themselves once they are adults, but far too often they then neglect their parents when they are in need.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Master of Something Yet

    Fantastic post, Trent. I love Jon Stewart. John Oliver is another who says the things that need to be said. I wish we had an Australian equivalent. Things are bad here. Like you, I despair. When the government and opposition both spout the same hateful rhetoric (in our case in regard to asylum seekers particularly), what hope does the country have?

    Malala is the most amazing young woman. A voice for our times, I think.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Jon Stewart and John Oliver are both great. I watch very little TV, but when I do it’s usually something along those lines.

      It’s interesting how similar USA and OZ politics are. When I said the haves shaking their fists at the have-nots one thing I was thinking about was, as you said, Australia’s asylum policy. Hey, and now your military is paying off the smugglers to turn around and make the treacherous journey back unless someone pays them more to keep going. Great.

      I think Malala is great. Since I get a lot of my news from the BBC web site I knew about her before she was shot and have followed very closely since, including reading her book. What an inspiring young woman!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. eloisedesousa

    A moving and honest post Trent. It urges me to do more too and you’re right – the more we send out positive messages, the more we drown out the media, the anger, the burning hunger to hurt others and return to sanity and humanity.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      We are one in this world and the people who realize it must say something. I don’t understand hatred or the anger we see. Hopefully we can join our voices together to bring back a little of that sanity.

      Thanks for the reblog!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. lisa thomson-The Great Escape...

    Fabulous post! I feel I don’t do enough either. Also, I try to always post positive messages but sometimes I feel as though I’m not heard. I was feeling this exact way yesterday about the greed and crooked people in the world who seem to succeed in spite of or because of their cunning ways. It makes me mad but then focusing on the compassion out there as you mention really helps. I haven’t seen the news on this horrific shooting and quite frankly I don’t have the stomach for it. Beautiful post for #1000Speak, Trent and lovely to meet you.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. sonyaliraphotography

    Great post Trent. I think many of us together can make a difference in the world. The news is often times to depressing to even watch anymore. Social media people tend to attack and I really do no like that either. I did come up with my post finally.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks Sonya. That’s one reason I like to be part of the #1000Speak – by ourselves we have little say, but with us all together we can be loud, perhaps even make a difference. I saw you post. Very nice.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee – 6/20/2015 | Trent's World (the Blog)

Express Yourself

