What Do You Think of the New Look?

construction

I decided to update the look of Trent’s World, the Blog!  Actually, it now matches my web page.  Well, for the most part.  There is one thing I hate.  The widgets eat too much of the page, about a third of the usable area.  It looks great without the widgets, but then there is no search and no “follow” button.  So I have to put up the widgets.  If there is a way to put these into the menu, I’d love to know!  Also, the header is under the menu, not above it.  Strange!

Any opinions?

 

18 thoughts on “What Do You Think of the New Look?

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee – 6/20/2015 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. Master of Something Yet

    None of the themes is perfect. I think I agree with your theory that it’s a ploy to get you to upgrade. But you still have to know how to change what you want to change.

    One thing I did was to set up another blog as a ‘test’ blog. I have it set to private so only I can see it but it lets me try out themes without having to actually change my real blog.

    I quite like the minimalist look of this one. :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I know, I don’t want to be like a mutual friend who always tinkered with her blog. It’s been ages since I did any web design work, but I’m sure I could dig up the CSS skills to make the changes to this theme, but is it worth it? Well, for now it isn’t ;) I do have another blog but the layout is a bit different because I have planned on making it public – the political arm of Trent’s World. having another test blog is a good idea.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks Sue. Looking at your blog I do like the sidebar better – it’s thinner and a little more compact. For instance, on the search bar the title on yours almost sits on the bar while on mine it looks totally separate, almost unrelated. None of the themes are perfect. With some there is the option to use CSS to fix some of these things, but I think that’s only for paid themes. Plus the work with the CS…

      Like

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          Yesterday I played with previews but it went away. Today it came back again – I think they don’t want people changing their page more than once a day. Anyway, I found one I thought was perfect. But after checking a few random posts and pages I discovered that the little frame it put around pictures screwed with every one of my pages and made quite a few posts almost unreadable and so stuck to the one I picked out yesterday. Oh well, I may have to break down and pay for an upgrade – I think they purposefully keep annoying features in to get people to upgrade ;)

          Like

          Reply
  3. Solveig

    Oh, I like this theme better. I think we all have our problems with our themes. Mine has a line that does the separation between text and widgets, which I think helps visually, but then again I don’t like how the tags take up so much space, something that you don’t have to deal with…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks. I do like the theme you use. That one might be better than the one I picked. I wish I could experiment without making changes. It allowed me to once, but then it took away the option.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. nerdinthebrain

    I like it! I think the menu above the header looks nice, but I’m with you on the widgets…they seem to be invading the text of the post in some way. Even just a thin line dividing the posts from the widgets would be good, but I have no idea how to make that happen…or if it’s even possible.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks for the feedback. I’ll see if there’s an option to divide them out more. I still like the look without the widgets – I wish there was an option with this theme to put them on the bottom, but this theme doesn’t have a search, so…

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. mbarkersimpson

    I like it. It’s clean and elegant. Inviting. Unfortunately I can’t help with the technical aspects, there are often things I wish I had more control over within the themes on WP.

    Like

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks for the feedback, Melissa. I think to do what I want to do I’d have to spend money on a theme :) I haven’t seen any of the free ones that are set up how I want.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

