The 777 Challenge – in Part

Fireborn

I was tagged by Ali from over in Chronicles of an Orange-Haired Woman! for the 777 challenge.  The idea is to turn to page 7 in your current work in progress, go down 7 lines and copy the next 7 sentences.

My current work in progress is still The Fireborn.  I’ve done 4 main drafts and a handful of quick revisions looking for typos and such.

Over the first seven pages of the book we are introduced to Elliot Everett-Jones and his brother, William.  William,an archeologist of some note, has discovered a large ancient caldron and wanted to show it off to Elliot, a historian who has made his impact with slightly occult readings of revisionist history.  While William sees an exciting artifact Elliot sees the lost cauldron of the dead.   At the beginning of the next chapter Elliot is woken by a phone call from William.  The cauldron is missing.  Which brings us to the quote.

This is from the latest draft in Word.  It is single spaced at a 12 pt font so 7 pages is much more than 7 book pages.  I also added a couple sentences at the end.

“You’re right I need to calm down. I doubt it was someone on my team, but you seem to be implying something, well, sinister. What are you talking about?” William asked.

Elliot hesitated for a moment before answering. “This is a long story and I know how you feel about my research. I know: a disreputable source quotes an unknown document which quotes a forgotten poet. But piecing it all together… well, I think I know where your cauldron comes from. Do you want to hear?”

“Sure,” answered William. “It’ll take my mind off of it while I wait. Go ahead and fill my brain with your gobbly-goop.”

So that’s it.  The problem here is that I’m supposed to nominate 7 other people for the challenge.  That’s the part I hate.  My mind always goes blank, which is one reason I have a “no award” policy for the blog.  So I’ll make it an open challenge – if you are working on a book, go to page 7, skip down 7 lines and copy the next 7 sentences.

Have fun!

13 thoughts on “The 777 Challenge – in Part

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee – 6/13/2015 | Trent's World (the Blog)

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks Ali! If I can’t find a traditional publisher and go the self-publishing route, I’ll use the painting as the cover art. Even if I do use a traditional publisher, I’ll ask about the painting.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      If you do have at least seven pages, go for it! I love your writing on IW so I’m sure it’s great. And yes, I noticed you didn’t challenge anyone in your last award post ;)

      Like

      Reply
      1. idiotwriter

        Mweh – probably give it a miss. It hits on a dialogue I dont really like – plus – it wants to remain in my hands …for now. Might share it with a couple of people chat with to depict a few truths though…….

        Like

        Reply
  2. Corina

    I’ll bite. I’ll do it but I have a post scheduled for Wednesday already. I will do it Thursday or Friday. You made me go way back and look for a nanowrimo novel and I almost couldn’t find it. I was about to start crying when it popped up! Whew! What a relief!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
      1. Corina

        Yes, that’s one of the things I wanted to do this year but with everything that has happened in the past three months, I haven’t dusted anything off. I will though. There’s still a lot of this year left.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

Express Yourself

