If We Were Having Coffee – 5/16/2015

Coffee

Hello!  Welcome.  Come on in and I’ll get you a nice strong French Roast.  As usual I also have tea, hot cocoa, water, seltzer and such.  No name brand soda, though.  As you can tell from the photo I’m on Cape Cod again.  yes, three weeks in a row!  It makes up for the all of the weeks I missed.

It was supposed to rain today but so far it is beautiful.  My dog, Fiyero, got me up at 5:30.  Since then he’s been on three walks and we played in the back yard for 30 minutes.  I also took a quick trip without him to my favorite beach and took a long walk.  No dogs are allowed because of the nesting shore birds.  I think some of my neighbors are just getting up ;)    Yesterday after I finished work I took out for a very long walk in the woods and by the salt marsh.

Work has been busy.  I’ve also been busy in my off time hours.  So yes, my blogging has slowed down a bit, but I’ve still put up four posts this week.  OK, one of them was a re-post of my Prelude in Ab Major, giving some back ground and “composer notes” plus a video of Paris.  I also put up an almost abstract photo, a poem and a short story that combines elements of sci-fi and spiritualism.

During my slow down I’ve tried to ignore stats – I know they’re down.  It still surprises me how down they are.  My views have been trending at about a third of what they have been this year.  I’ve had my lowest view day in over a year.  anyway, I’ll try to ignore them.

I’m going to travel next week.  I’ll leave on Thursday and come back the next Tuesday.  For people who aren’t in the US next weekend is Memorial Day, a very busy travel weekend.  I’m going to visit family.  My guess is I will put up very few original posts, though I will try to get in a coffee post.

So, that’s about it next week.  I’ll try to catch up with all of the coffee posts this week.  And if you missed seeing me on your blog, well, I’ve been trying but time is limited.

Thanks for stopping by!  I hope your week has been good and next week even better.  For now I’m heading out – there’s a huge world out there to explore and the day has just begun.

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers.

 

53 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee – 5/16/2015

          1. prior

            thanks – I am actually going to be posting a couple last catch up posts and then taking a pause til sometime in June…. so can I have my coffee in a “to go” cup?

            Like

            Reply
            1. trentpmcd Post author

              Sure, a to cup it is:) Next week I’m going to post the to-go-cup you gave me as I’ll be traveling ;) I’ll miss you during your break. I hope it’s for something good!

              Liked by 1 person

              Reply
              1. prior

                well I am not leaving yet – I have a few posts I am going to put up to hang out during my break – oh yes – quite good – end of the year stuff, a work project, a local trip and just a pause. but I will be checking in on some blogs so I look forward to seeing the travel mug.

                Liked by 1 person

                Reply
  1. Deborah Weber

    It’s fun to be up and about enjoying your morning knowing others are still sleeping isn’t it? It feels like a secret cache of time, and how fun to spend part of it with exuberant dog energy as well. Wishing you a fabulous week.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I do like to be out early, though sleeping in on occasion is also nice. Actually, I enjoy going walking on the beach before anybody else is there. This time of year it isn’t as necessary, but once summer arrives, I like getting there before 7.

      Thanks – hope you also have a fabulous week!

      Like

      Reply
      1. prior

        well another reason to ignore the stats is because it does not account for views you get from those who are subscribed – :) and many view in the reader or via email….

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  2. Ula

    Thanks for the coffee. All those walks sound amazing. All that time spent in nature. Have a good week and wonderful Memorial Day weekend.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Master of Something Yet

    I like these coffee posts (even if I have to bring my own coffee) because I get to catch up quickly given I’ve been a bit off the radar lately. Hoping to go back and actually read the posts you’ve mentioned but I’m already knackered…. Promise to dip in when I can. Enjoy your trip, Trent. I’ve heard of Memorial Day weekend (from tv shows) but I wouldn’t have had a clue exactly when it was.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      The coffee posts are fun. And yes, I know my coffee isn’t up to Oz standards :) Memorial Day is a generic memorial to different wars (why we don’t celebrate peace, I’m not sure). It’s always the last Monday of May and some consider it the first weekend of summer.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Random Musings and Wanderlust

    Thanks for the coffee! Glad you’re out on the Cape and can enjoy the lovely weather. Hoping out here the weather takes a change soon, although we have those nesting birds and not only are dogs not permitted on the beach, but us humans are banned from certain areas as well. Piping Plover season. The stat conundrum, I hear that in the warmer months stats generally go down, now I’m only blogging since last August and didn’t really get deep into it until January, so I’m not sure how true this can be. But then again, anything is possible. Enjoy the rest of your weekend!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Parts of the beach are roped off. Last week I got quite a few piping plover pictures but didn’t see any this week. I’m back in NH today, which of course is the nicest day of the weekend ;)

      The numbers are funny. I had a slight decrease at this time last year, but this is much bigger.

      Thanks for stopping.

      Like

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          That would be nice if they were bouncing back. I’m not sure when they nested last year – the first pictures I got last year were at the end of June and I saw some chicks – they were the size of cotton balls.

          Like

          Reply
          1. Random Musings and Wanderlust

            That’s exactly what I thought they were when I was strolling along the beach out here, then upon closer look I realized they were little ones. Cute little guys, but cause so much frustration out here among the beach goers. We have most of the beach that washed away during hurricane Sandy, and then to have the Plover as a protected species, it has priority on the beach. Would love to get some photos of them this year though, if conditions are good.

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
            1. trentpmcd Post author

              They are cute little things. There are other Plovers that look a lot like them. I haven’t seen any this year so i guess they show up later. The other ones are much more common.

              Like

              Reply
                1. trentpmcd Post author

                  The Semipalmated Plover are very common, at least on Cape Cod. I’m getting better at telling them apart “in the field” but I still usually wait until I look at the pictures on the computer before I can tell.

                  Like

                  Reply
  5. Silver in the Barn

    Thanks for the cup of tea and I do ignore stats assiduously. I paid more attention to them way back when I first started than I do now. I guess if you are a “goal-less” blogger as I am, they just don’t matter. Hope your weekend is going well, Trent.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I know I need to ignore the stats. I don’t pay too much attention to absolute numbers,mostly trends. Anyway, the weekend is going great as it usually does when I’m on cape Cod. Glad you could join me for tea. Hope you’re having a good weekend as well.

      Like

      Reply
  6. 20/20 Hines Sight

    Ignore stats is that possible? Good luck and if you successfully do it, please make how to ignore stats post. :) And I will agree with Nerd in the Brain, I think stats are down in general. I hope your Memorial Day travels are restful. Hmm I think maybe I need to borrow your pup to get me out walking.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’m too much of a numbers nerd, there’s no way I’ll ever be able to totally ignore the stats ;) The pup has been non-stop all weekend. i think if i was in Denver I’d be out walking in the mountains every weekend! Well, in the winter it would be skiing or x-country, but still, looking at those big things just hanging over the city there would be no way I’d stay out of them…

      Like

      Reply
      1. 20/20 Hines Sight

        I’m going to be getting out to those mountains pretty soon. I left my vehicle in DC and I think I’m going to have it shipped. The weather here has been pretty crapy, but as soon as it breaks I plan on pulling out the roller blades and my bike and peddling or skating to and from work.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I just got back from a walk with the dog – it started raining and we got soaked :) It sounds like you had a rough week – hope you do get a short walk in! Thanks for the tweets.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  7. Diana

    Glad you guys are having a nice weekend! The weather is rather gross here, or it has been in the evenings, and the pup is keeping us a bit busy playing fetch since he hasn’t been out on his usual walks.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Since winter finally went away in mid to late April it’s been a great spring up here. I understand pup thing – Fiyero has been driving me crazy since we’ve been here. With him I think it’s because he misses his sister.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Diana

        Tank is a border collie/west highland terrier mix, and he can be quite high-energy at times. He’s good as a house dog, but he definitely needs some exercise each day.

        Like

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          Yeah, I’ve heard border collies are about as high energy as they get. Fiyero is a year old boxer and needs his play time Idina is a mix and actually makes Fiyero look low energy! I think she has some Jack Russell in her. If so that might explain the energy.

          Like

          Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I can’t have a weekend coffee post without complaining about the stats;) Actually, last year my stats did a nose dive in early May and didn’t recover until mid-July. So maybe it is mid-year slump. I hope your weekend is going well:)

      Like

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          I did get interrupted a few times and had to go back and listen again, so a number of the hits were me, but I’m sure there were many more too!

          Like

          Reply
  8. Tina

    We’ve had a slow lazy morning round here. Thanks for the cuppa and the chat. Keep living the life, I’d tell you to ignore the stats but… we both know that aint happenin’. ;)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  9. nerdinthebrain

    All of your walks sound fantastic! :D

    From what I’ve been seeing from other bloggers, stats seem to be down for a lot of people. I know mine certainly are. Someone suggested that, perhaps, there had been a change in how stats are tracked by WordPress, but I have no idea if there’s any truth to that.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It’s possible there was a change. Already views directly in the reader (if they don’t click into the page) don’t count, views using the app on phones/tablets don’t count, “views” from e-mail (unless they click in) don’t count. I take the actual numbers with a grain of salt, but I do tend to look at trends.

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply

Express Yourself

