If We Were Having Coffee – 5/8/2015

Beatles and Coffee

Beatles and Coffee

Hello and welcome!  Come on in and I’ll give you a nice mug of very strong French Roast.  I also have assorted teas, cocoa and other beverages – no soda (except plain seltzer), though, because it’s evil ;)  From the picture you can guess that once again I’m down on Cape Cod.

It’s been a busy week.  In fact, one of my few new posts stated the fact that because I’m so busy I’m doing another blogging slow down.  Now I do have time to put up posts – I write fast so it only takes ten minutes – but I feel it’s un-fair to post and not read any other posts.

Besides the blogging slow down post, I put up a picture of the 23 year old Trent for Throw Back Thursday.  Yes, I carried a keyboard with me everywhere!  I also put up another new short story, a look at why Facebook is so important ;)

So, why am I so busy? Well, for one thing, it’s finally Spring here in New England!  The weather is gorgeous.  Not only do I need to get out and enjoy it, I also have to do a ton of work around the house.  Or perhaps I should say “houses” because I have been doing stuff on both the house in New Hampshire and the cottage on Cape Cod.

There is also my day job.  I did something very strange – I actually told my boss I wanted more work.  And the request got pushed up the chain.  So not only is my boss giving me more, but I’m taking on some projects from other groups.  I’m not supposed to blog at work, but, you know, if I’m not as busy as I should be…  Well, now I am as busy as I should be (or soon will be) so I won’t be looking at any blogs during working hours.  None.

And I’m just enjoying life.  I’ve said this before, and I mean no disrespect to anyone out there, I’m not trying to be judgmental, but to me life is what happens when I step away from the computer.  I don’t watch TV but I still don’t have the time to do all I want to do.  I want 36 hour days, 9 day weeks with the 40 (actually 45) hour work week,  then I might be able to do one percent of what I want to do.  Maybe if I stayed active all 36 hours of those extended days I could push it to two percent.

On that note, I’ll be heading out to do stuff now!  I hope you all had a great week and that next week is even better!

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers.

28 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee – 5/8/2015

  1. lifeconfusions

    Woho I’m right on time for the Coffee !! Thanks I would love a mug of creamy one! ;)

    Soooo you’ve been pretty darn busy too huh, Man you are one active monster I’m impressed by your willingness to do work considering I run from it any chance I get :P

    All I can say is ~sips on coffee~ is good luck with all the stuff you have got planned, Nothing’s better than to do work and be happy about it ! ;)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’ll have to pull out the cappuccino maker and see if I can make something you like. Yes, I’m strange, I ask my boss for more work:) And sorry, I can’t do your work for you – I’d most likely end up killing someone instead of helping them… Most of the stuff I have planned, though, is fun stuff – kayaking, making music, drawing, writing, etc., etc. Hope you find a minute or two to do some of the nothing you want to do ;)

      Like

      Reply
      1. lifeconfusions

        Aaah yes Trent, though I’m pretty sure when I get the free time I won’t do anything much except sleep, eat or blog maybe. I’m the laziest person on the face of this earth along with being a total whiner ! :P

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          Right now I think when you get some free time you deserve to just sleep, eat and maybe do a little blogging. Nah, I’ve met much lazier people and much bigger whiners.

          Like

          Reply
  2. Diana

    Enjoy the weather!

    I’m a bit more laid back myself, but I totally understand the feeling that there just aren’t enough hours in the day, just not enough time, for all the things you want to do!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. phb2003

    enjoy your sunshine my friend – and live your life with balance is what I always say! and sometimes I absolutely love getting lost into a work project that takes 70 hours that week – or I love having an intense blogging week – or following rabbit trails on health topics or stuff that interests me. But a life pattern of living in those modes would rob us of life – or as you would say “enjoying life” – and so it all comes down (in my humble opinion) to staying in tune with what we need in a given season – because it is not always something that can be calculated.

    oh and I bet your boss was happy to hear that you were available for some more work –

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      A little self-assesment, make sure we’re doing what we need to be doing and what we want to be doing, making sure that we don’t wake up some morning and seeing that life has passed us by and we didn’t get those important things in. Yes, that’s what it’s about :)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. Corina

    We’ve had a few nice days here but I haven’t been able to go out and enjoy them. It seems that when I am able to be out and about, the weather turns cold and rainy. I’m going stir crazy though. I need to get outside. I am thinking of going for a short walk. Short as in just a couple of houses down the block and back because I’m still very shaky and I have to take the walker with me so I can’t go too far. But the weather is nice enough so I might give it a try. Hope you have a super week!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’m sure it’s a little depressing, but hope it continues to stretch a few houses at a time to a full-fledged walk in the not-to-distant future. Have a great weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. Serins

    Oh, I get what you are saying here with the blogging and not being able to read other blogs. If I were to read all the blogs I wanted to, I’d be stuck at this machine all day. And I’m also too busy for blog at work. They don’t pay me to blog…. ;)

    Have a good weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      That is how life seems to work – always too much or too little. of course the best course is find a way to thrive no matter how much or little there is to do.

      Like

      Reply
  6. Solveig

    Have a great weekend, and enjoy spring. I have to go out and enjoy the weather too now, but a bit of blog hopping had to be done… It sounds as if you are both very productive and underemployed…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I wouldn’t say underemployed, at least not in the long run. A bit underutilized for a while, but that’s changing. I know, I’m weird, I like to get to work, start working and not do anything else except for work until it’s time to go home (or shut down if I’m telecommuting).

      I’m going to stop by a few places for coffee (blog-hopping) before getting off of the computer.

      Anyway, I hope you have a great weekend!

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply

Express Yourself

