Throw Back Thursday – the Late 1980s

In the 80s

I was going through some old photos and dug this up.  Here’s a quick story.

It was sometime in the late 1980s.  Despite the fact that I look like I’m 15 in this picture, I think I was 23, almost 24.  That would put my brother pretty close to his 26th birthday.  Yes, that’s my brother standing next to me.  For some reason the stars crossed in such a way that we both found ourselves living at my parents house that summer.

My dad’s family was having a reunion in Iowa, on the banks of the Mississippi.  My parents had other commitments so my brother and I decided to drive out to represent our branch of the family.  We both knew a few cousins and most of our aunts and uncles, but for the most part these people were almost strangers at the time.  The problem is that most of our cousins are much older than us and when we had previously visited them we were small children.

Despite all of this we had a great time.  When I was reintroduced to some of my cousins it was now an adult to adult relationship, not child to adult.  Of course there is truth to genetics and we found we had a lot in common.

There are a few funny things about this picture.  First, I’m drinking a beer.  At that time I wouldn’t be caught dead drinking a beer in front of my parents.  I don’t know why I didn’t think they’d see the pictures.  It’s funny, that shirt would fit in with my current wardrobe.  Also you may notice the keyboard.  I carried that keyboard around everywhere I went.  It was an appendage.  I had another keyboard I used to carry around before this one.

No real point to the story, just a funny picture I found.  But one thing – I want to find another small keyboard I can carry with my every were.  I miss it…

30 thoughts on “Throw Back Thursday – the Late 1980s

  1. lifeconfusions

    Wow we get to see young Trent ! (Not that you are too old now but hey you get the point :D )
    You bear such close resemblance to your brother (Well of course you do he is your brother, so obvious but I just had to say it :P )

    Ah old photos, bring up such good memories! (And about that key-board? We gotta have a long talk about that :D )

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Compared to you I’m ancient! Of course i still feel young, so I guess that counts for something:) When we were teenagers my brother and I looked a lot alike. We where actually only in high school together one year, but people would come up and start talking to me and I’d have no clue who they were…

      What about the keyboard? You agree I need another? Talk away, I’m listening :D

      Like

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          Hmm, mixed feelings? I’m still curious…. Of course i guess if i got a new one it would look a little odd if i carried it everywhere, but then, hey, if anyone wants music… ;) And it’s basic black (and white) so it matches every outfit….

          Like

          Reply
  2. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee – 5/8/2015 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  3. phb2003

    well now we know the secret to your awesome playing -practice. :) – and so that plaid is in your wardrobe, for some reason I just imagine you wearing turtle necks all the time – with a very stately look – but I guess casual attire must fit the drives to the cape and all that dog care.. ha!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I don’t wear a lot of plaid, but during the summer it is all short sleeve, button shirts. I have a collection of Tommy Bahama that I live in – you must have missed my no more turtleneck post a few weeks back… Yes, I used to play on that little keyboard 24 x 7 ;)

      Like

      Reply
      1. phb2003

        the post sounds faintly familiar – I will double check (you know sometimes I speed through visits whereas other times I linger) anyhow, I still just visualize the turtle neck!!!

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  4. Pingback: #TBT: Civil War Diaries by Women | The Realm of the Chaos Fairy

  5. Pingback: Flashback 1980 | Wasted Days And Wasted Nights

  6. Corina

    Have you looked on ebay? I bet you’d find something comparable to your portable keyboard, especially if you know the brand and model. I have a picture I was going to post on Facebook today for tbt that was taken around 1980. I was 24 but looked about 15. I might post it on my blog later if I have the energy.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks!
      About the keyboard – I’ve looked a few times and have never seen anything quite like this one – it had some very advanced capabilities. When I look today, the small handhelds like this are marketed at little kids – preschoolers. This was an adult instrument that actually showed up on a lot of albums.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
            1. trentpmcd Post author

              What I need has to be able to fit in a book bag. Any bigger and I won’t carry it – I have a microbrute that can, but it needs external power. So about a foot long, much bigger and it’ll stay at home/waste of money.

              Like

              Reply
  7. The Chaos Realm

    You know what’s so frickin’ weird? I was going about my morning (pre-Internet rituals) and I was trying to figure out what to do for TBT and was almost going to do an 80s flashback like this. Opted not to–the world doesn’t need to see me in my Madonna lookalike days! ROFL!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  8. alienorajt

    Ah, how lovely to see the younger Trent – great photo! And interesting that the keyboard was attached even then. I can see the resemblance between you and your brother. xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Express Yourself

