A Poem for Prose (Again)

handOriginally posted 2/27/2014 – edited 5/3/2015

You will never find
A great dusty tome
Leather bound and fragrant
On whose spine is written
 “The Complete Poems of Trent”
No university class
Will teach my verse
No students
Hanging on every word
For I am not a poet
I pretend not to be one
I am not a poet
Yet I fill the page with lines
Flowing from my pen
Hopefully flowering with words
And meaning
I write stanza and verse
Gaudy or terse
Rhythm and rhyme
mundane or sublime
(Some of the time)
Yet
I am not a poet
With prose I create my worlds
With prose I share my thoughts
It is with prose that I explore
The universe in and out
So why the verse
Why the rhyme?
Metaphor and allusion
Rhythm and flow
Imagery and openness
Poetry releases these colors
To paint my inner world
And once the colors are released
I can draw the words of my prose
A little brighter
With a little more style
And substance
I am not a poet
Yet still I write
A line or two

21 thoughts on “A Poem for Prose (Again)

  1. alienorajt

    I love this one, Trent. In not being a poet, you actually show that you are one. Know what you mean about the relationship between prose and poetry: they complement one another in many ways, and the study of poetic form can tighten the prose style, eliminating the superfluous and self-indulgent phrases we all produce from time to time. xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks Ali! Somebody drug this up recently and I had to repost! As i said to Amy, when I wrote it I had written at most a couple of dozen poems. Hope I’ve gotten better since then!

      Haven’t seen you in a while – do you have a blog up? I get a blank page when I try to find you.

      Hope you’re doing well!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks Amy! When I originally wrote this I think I could count the poems I’d created on my fingers and toes. Now, trying to write a new poem every week I hope I’m a little better ;)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          A lot of times people skip reposts so I hide them ;) The first line under the picture is “Originally posted 2/27/2014 – edited 5/3/2015” and then there is the “(Again)” in the title. Usually I put “(Repost)” in the title, but decided to try something different.

          Like

          Reply
            1. trentpmcd Post author

              I’ve missed things like that. The worse one was when someone I follow went on about all of the things she’s done in the last year, including coming out of the closet, and I wrote a long reply about “How in the world did I miss that one!” and then she replied that it was guest author posting. ooops… ;)

              Like

              Reply

Express Yourself

