Touch – A Lullaby

You

Mountain of grey and black looms
Storm clouds gathering
Lightning strikes
The hurricane gusts
I see it in your eye
The troubles of the world
Flood ‘till the dam bursts
But sleep now, my love
Tomorrow is another day
I can’t promise skies of blue
Or free of freezing rain
But I can promise
I’ll be there
Right by your side
No matter how far away
I’ll reach over hill and field
My hand will cross the widest stream
To give you a gentle caress
So I ask you now to sleep
So you can feel my touch

33 thoughts on “Touch – A Lullaby

  1. prior..

    hey T – I left comment on the reblog – and funny how a year (plus) later – the poem took on a different feel – maybe it is because I am more familiar with your drawings and work – hm – or that I am at a different place – anyhow – great poem T

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It is funny how things seem different over time. I was looking for this poem and it wasn’t exactly what I thought but close enough – so even my own memory of it is different.

      Thanks! Glad you liked it!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee – 4-11-2015 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  3. prior

    well first of all – for some reason I always love your drawings T – and your self-portrait was one of the things that made me smile when I first started following your blog last year.
    I like your art because it is all your own – and there is always something I see that has a certain energy…. and I have seen plenty of drawings over the years.

    anyhow, I also enjoyed your poem today…

    “But I can promise
    I’ll be there…”

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! I enjoy doing the little drawings and it’s nice to know someone enjoys them. And this poem seemed to, um, I know the pun has been used, but it seems to touch quite a few people.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
          1. prior

            yes sir – just getting back form a quick road trip to DC – and had time to check in on a few comments – but now off to an end of season basketball banquet :) –
            <3

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          Yes it can. You can express yourself, your every thought, with it, express your dreams of the future. And yet you can turn it around and make mean what you want at a particular time.

          Like

          Reply
                1. trentpmcd Post author

                  Yes we did. Spirals are a pattern often found in nature – hopefully they are leasing up and not down, and, Oh forget it, perhaps you should write a poem about it or something ;)

                  Like

                  Reply
                  1. idiotwriter

                    I have written many poems about spirals Trent you BAD BAD minion! And – oh deary me – the up or down of spirals… DONT get me started ;) And – yeah – perhaps we should just leave it there! lol.

                    Liked by 1 person

                    Reply

Express Yourself

