Early Spring on Cape Cod – Return of the Osprey!

I spent the weekend on Cape Cod, known around here as just “The Cape”.  I say that because I know I sometimes confuse my African readers with “The Cape”:)  This has been a very harsh winter and yet, at last, Spring has arrived.

As always I took quite a few photos, even though many were in the rain.  We did have some sunshine.  In fact, the second it stopped raining on Saturday I was on my way to Chapin Beach.  This beach has tidal flats that stretch out well over a kilometer, but I got there at high tide.  I’m not sure if it was the full moon, the north-west wind or what, but I don’t think I’ve seen the tide as high.

full moon

One problem with high tide is I had promised Justine at Eclectic Odds and Sods a picture in the sand.  Well, the good news was that I had arrived just after the rain so the sand was wet.  Also the scouring winds had made a nice smooth pallet on which to draw.  Here is the first drawing I did for her (private joke).  I redid the drawing later just in case the first didn’t turn out – it’s in the gallery.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As i was walking I heard some high pitched “piping” sounds.  I looked and sure enough there was a piping plover.  These birds are endangered so if this little one nests they will will rope off part of the beach.

piping plover

In a nearby salt marsh I saw an osprey landing on a nesting platform.  After it landed the one on the platform took off and flew away.  If you click on at the picture in the gallery you can see both.  Later, at one of my favorite walking locations, I saw quite a few osprey, usually at a distance.  One would fly over on occasion and I got a few pictures that aren’t bad, though not as good as I’m sure I’ll get as the year goes on.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In a little brackish water river I saw a pair of swan.  When I went to the edge to take pictures they came up close and checked me out.  They were so close I couldn’t really get a good picture.

There are also cranberry bogs around.  This is a big area for them.  The mallard ducks seemed to like to hang out in the cranberries.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It really felt like spring.  The spring peepers were out making a lovely racket.  The air smelt of spring.  I even saw a flower or two.  So it has arrived.  Note – as usual, click on the pictures for detail.

48 thoughts on “Early Spring on Cape Cod – Return of the Osprey!

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee – 4-11-2015 | Trent's World (the Blog)

            1. trentpmcd Post author

              Yes, both formal classes and using what we know. She is so different from our other dogs! Very needy. Oh well, we’ll handle it, but it’s been a struggle. But she is cute and sweet ;)

              Liked by 1 person

              Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! And it finally feels like spring. I hope spring finds its way to Montreal soon! (Back in New Hampshire there is still almost a meter of snow on my back patio – I’d piled it there and the sun never reaches it.)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. eclecticoddsnsods

    wow you really are very good with your birds. You put me to shame. And actually I am really excited you got the moon, actually on Saturday was the blood moon, apparently in parts of America and Australia the redness could be seen but not elsewhere, but this is a fantastic shot.

    Love the piping plover is so so pretty and I had to laugh at the picture, thank you very much forthis, so so so sweet :D grinzzz xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! Since I’ve been spending a lot of time on Cape Cod I’ve been doing a lot of bird photography. Last year I got some great osprey shots. I’m sorry it was low tide because the patterns in the sand are great and since you recently brought up sandy textures I thought you’d enjoy. And the pictures for you ;) I’m sure everyone is scratching their heads, “A spider? Trent’s chocolate? What?” :D

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. eclecticoddsnsods

        haha yes well it is good to get them guessing and I re-blogged it so they will be thinking us mad or something but that’s good :D lol.

        Maybe there will be another tide for more piccies sometime, my next sandy time is this Summer in the South of France yay x

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          I agree, let them think we’re mad. South of France? Can I come ;) I have a little house on Cape Cod and visit at least once a month, sometimes a couple of times. I’ll be spending most of the last week of April there. And maybe I’ll draw you something:)

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
          1. eclecticoddsnsods

            awe that would be good and wow that is so lovely you have a place there ;-) I havn’t been to the South of France for years so really looking forward to it, must brush up my language skills though, perhaps I can just draw in the sand rfor them hehe x

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
            1. trentpmcd Post author

              I’ve been to France 3 times but only had a day trip to Loire valley, besides that, I’ve stayed in Paris the whole time. No south of france, no alps, no wine country, etc. Perhaps it would be best not to brush up on your language – that way you won’t know what they’re saying about your sand drawings ;)

              Like

              Reply
            1. trentpmcd Post author

              Thanks! When the tide is out the sand on that beach is wonderful. I’ve taken hundreds of pictures of nothing but sand and the patterns in the sand. And of course all of the shore birds, but that’s another story.

              Liked by 1 person

              Reply
  3. lifeconfusions

    Happy Spring Trent. At last you guys have it ! :)
    We have already started getting a mild wave of heat here (Gosh I loath summers :( )
    The beach photograph in the header is especially stunning. Glad you are enjoying your holiday/trip ! :)
    Have a great week ahead <3

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks Zee! I understand – I hate the heat. I don’t think as clearly if it’s really hot. After your out of uni you’ll have to find a way to spend summers in the mountains or something ;) I had a great little holiday. Hope you have a great week, too!

      Like

      Reply
      1. lifeconfusions

        Not only I can’t think, I can’t even function properly with so much heat. Ughh just thinking about it makes me irritated.
        I would probably move to Antarctica after I”m done with studies , Lol

        Like

        Reply

Express Yourself

