If Were Having Coffee – 4-4-2015

Beatles and Coffee

Beatles and Coffee

Hello and welcome!  Come on in, choose a mug from the Beatles collection with other choices available, like Pink Floyd, Okemo Ski Resort and Edward Gory (it’s not batman!).  I’ll fill said cup with a strong French Roast.  Or perhaps with a nice tea of cocoa.  For once, however, I’m not going to say you need a warm beverage for it isn’t frigid.  Maybe cool for some of you, and very windy, but it didn’t get below freezing last night!

Coffee

If you’ve had coffee with me in the past you may realize that I’m down on Cape Cod.  “What”, I hear you exclaim, “I thought you were in Oklahoma!”  Well, my business trip got cancelled at the last minute.  So, home I stayed.  Well, until I came down to the Cape.

This was a busy week.  After I found out I was staying home I decided to make the most of it.  I got quite a bit of work done around the house.  I have a huge amount to do, but I can at least see progress.

I’ve also been doing a little drawing and playing piano and keyboards.  I’ve even done some writing.  I try to post a new short story every week but missed two in a row.  This week there was a new short story as well as several poems.

For the last few weeks I’ve been exploring “The Old Art of Trent”.  I’ve been listening to music I played or wrote ten, even twenty,  years ago.  I’ve also been digging up old drawings, like the ones I posted on Thursday.

As far as the blog goes, I will say the slow down both continues and is over.  What I mean by that is I think I’ve found some balance and have struck a new norm.  I won’t be reading as much as I did in the past, but will try to stay up with some of my favorites and hit everyone once in a while.  If I don’t, well, it’s not the end of the world and nobody will shoot me.

I rarely bring up religion on my blog, but I am Christian and Sunday is the most important holiday of the Christian calendar, so I will say Happy Easter to all of my Christian readers.  I also want to wish my Jewish readers who are now celebrating Passover a joyous holiday.

For those of us in the northern hemisphere, it is finally Spring, and it actually feels like spring now!  One thing about both the holiday and about spring in general is “renewal”.  Even more than the New Years this is a time when we think of renewal.  The world is turning green again.  The birds have returned.  Animals will soon be giving birth.  It is the season of renewal and I feel it.  It is time to wake up from the cold winter and start living again.

I hope you all have had a great week and that next week is even better.  Thanks for stopping by for some coffee and a chat.

Part Time Monster hosts a weekly coffee share. To join the fun and see what everyone else is doing for the coffee share, go to the “linky“.

42 thoughts on “If Were Having Coffee – 4-4-2015

  1. eloisedesousa

    Hi! Firstly, Happy Easter! Glad you had a good day and it’s wonderful to get a chance to catch up with you. Sounds like we are all finding a new spring rhythm for our blogging and getting into the swing of spring. Hope to see you stopping by whenever you get a chance and I’m going to go take a look at your drawings, short stories and poems I’ve been missing. Have a great week. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Happy Easter, Eloise! Yeah, I’m trying to find a good rhythm between life and blogging. I’ll stop by your “place” when ever i get a chance – i enjoy catching up with you! Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. eclecticalli

    Love the Gorey mug! I’ll happily use that one :)
    Happy Easter! I’m not Christian as most people would consider it (it’s complicated) but tend to dwell and associate with that faith tradition the most so it’s kind of strange for me to not be particularly marking the holiday. This is the first year, in a very long time, that I didn’t go to a church service. I’m living at my mothers, though, and she did make sure that I got an Easter basket – very sweet!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’m not really a typical christian either. I only attend church when I visit my parents, which usually isn’t at Easter. I wonder if they’d make me an Easter basket ;) Yeah, the Edward Gory mug is cool.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      This weekend definitely felt like spring, though I’m still waiting for the warmer weather too. Yeah, the Edward Gory mug is cool. Thanks for joining me for some coffee!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Conny Kaufmann

    Happy Easter, Trent! I’m glad it finally seems to get a bit warmer where you are. I’d take a coffee, don’t really what mug it’s from as long as it’s got The Beatles on it!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Corina

    I’m glad you’ve found a new norm for blogging. I keep thinking I am going to cut down on what I read and I don’t but I really need to. I know there area at least 20 blogs I follow and read every one of their posts and even comment. The bloggers reply to my comments but none of them have ever thought to come read my blog in months and months. So I’m thinking I will move those to a “read when you have time” list. That should help a bit. Hopefully I will be able to say I found a new norm soon, too.

    Happy Easter. I hope there will be much renewed, in personal and business life, and of course, you creative life!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’m down to trying to read the handful that I interact with (like you) and one or two others. If I don’t hit every post I don’t worry. And then I go through my reader and pick up a few that I feel like at that time. Keeping the balance isn’t always easy :)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. aladywrites4u

    Happy Easter, Chag Sameach, and sprung out spring. Sippin’ my coffee and playing catch up on some blogs while the oven does it’s magic with our Easter baking.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
      1. yprior1

        I agree- and another tricky part is that it changes depending on what our goals are – or what other stuff is going on. and for me – it is fun to indulge – but then other times it is nice to pull back a bit.
        oh – and thanks again for that quick math last month on the “solution” stuff – – I just sent the info to the guy and I will let you know what/if he replies.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
            1. trentpmcd Post author

              What are you people doing to me? I just sat down for some nice afternoon tea with my Pink Floyd mug! Twice today someone has requested a mug and both times it was the one I’m using. O well, I guess I have to wash out this one too… (It’s dark Side of the Moon. If Were Wish You Were Here I’d keep it for myself ; ))

              Liked by 1 person

              Reply
              1. yprior1

                oh I can take a different mug – and I have a special story about dark side of the moon.
                I will keep it short. but in 2012 – my son (oldest) helped my coach a soccer team in the spring and then in fall. It was last minute and well, I actually volunteered not even thinking of him. but it turned out to be such a gift from God (love when he does stuff like this) and well, not only did my son rock at coaching the kids – but had his driving permit and was able to get in many miles as we drove to and from. well, the one week was extra special (and the reason for sharing it here) because we used my husband’s truck and inside the 6 cd storage holder was dark side of the moon. we played it on the drive all week – and it was nice enough outside for the windows to be down and I am not one to crank the tunes while driving, but a couple times – well – you know – and I told him all about the headphones in the 80’s. He actually knew pf but did not know this albumin and Trent – it was something we will always share – and so unexpected.

                oh – and to say thanks for the tea…

                a song for you:

                Liked by 1 person

                Reply
                    1. trentpmcd Post author

                      Vera is my fav. from the Wall. The Wall is not my Fav, but listening to it from the standpoint of “classical music”, it is very impressive – little themes from early songs are expanded on to make a unified whole that grows out of the beginning song or two.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    2. yprior1

                      well said – and the show must go on is also one of my top songs from the wall and from pf overall – hm

                      but I never cared for the popular “Money” and even though “another brick in the wall” was ubiquitous – I only really became awed when I head a triple shot (one of those weekends in mid 1980’s with three in a row for each band – ha!) and I think they played Breathe – Welcome to the Machine and another one….
                      I went home and immediately searched through my brother’s albums.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    3. trentpmcd Post author

                      I think I heard Adam Heart Mother first and loved it – PF and an orchestra. Then DSotM. But when I heard the whole WYWH album I was blown away – I loved everything synthesizer and that is the most electronic of all the floyd albums.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    4. yprior1

                      oh cool… and another thing I remember is the “headphones only” time from our local rock station – where on a friday or saturday night they would play music made for headphones – which of course include pf.
                      how many times have you seen them? I stopped going to concerts in the 1990’s – not really my thing – but I used to like them and I bought 4 tickets (for 80.00) for the pf concert in Toronto (CNE) and my car was in the shop that week and so I gave one of the tickets away to the guy that drive us there (from Bfl) good times….

                      Liked by 1 person

                    5. trentpmcd Post author

                      I never saw them. I only hit a few concerts and they were usually odd ball things. Like the Psychedelic Furs right before their 15 minutes of fame or a washed up Moody Blues together with an even more washed up inXS. A couple of years ago I saw Dylan. Oh, I did see the Talking Heads on the first concert of the Stop Making Sense tour, the one they made into a movie. And Yes was my first true concert but never Pink Floyd.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    6. yprior1

                      laughing at some of the bands you have seen (that is way cool) Psychedelic Furs and inxs.. hah! I never saw Yes, but like their music. in fact, I heard the lead singer (Jon) became a Christian and in the late 990’s he made this cool song with 4 HIM – and sorry to keep sharing your ube songs… but here it is – just one more to wrap up coffee chatting :)

                      Liked by 1 person

                    7. trentpmcd Post author

                      I was a freshman in high school when I saw Yes. It was one of their classic line ups with Rick Wakeman on keyboard (I’m a keyboardist and notice these things ; ) Very influential. I’ll have to watch the video later. Good night – I hope you have a great Easter.

                      Liked by 1 person

  6. nerdinthebrain

    I would definitely go with the Edward Gorey mug. :) And I’m giggling about the fact that you pointed out it isn’t Batman…leads me to believe that you’ve had someone make that mistake before. ;)

    Have a beautiful Easter! :D

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. somberscribbler

    I envy your spring weather there today. It was beautifully warm yesterday, you could go out with only a sweater if you wanted. This morning, I woke up to more snow. So much for spring. I’m glad you have found balance with the blog. It gives you more time for your hobbies…which the blog readers appreciate you sharing! :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      There’s a mix of rain and snow in the forecast, at least in NH. But that’s spring in NH – it will hit the low 50s a few times next week. Finding the balance is hard. Thanks for the complement:)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

