If You Knew My Heart

Dinner Guest

If you knew my heart
Would it be love?
If you read my mind
Would it be you?
If you saw the future
Would I stay true?

Connected as one
An open book
You can read me
With only a look
Forever and now
I’m at your call
Forever and now
I’ll give you my all

If I knew your heart
Would it be love?
If I read your mind
Would it be me?
Can I shape the future
And cause it to be?

I recently answered the “Spread the Love” challenge, aka “Love in Four Words” and even some other names I’ve seen.  Idiot Writer missed  my post and challenged me again.  After pointing her to the post I told her I’d write another poem of love, something different.  This is my answer.  It’s not really about love, just a silly love poem.

Oh, and the drawing?  I’ve posted the heart-stone too many times recently so I wanted something a little different ;)  Don’t read too much into it.

20 thoughts on “If You Knew My Heart

  1. MagnoliaMemories

    Reblogged this on Heavens Whispers and commented:
    What a truly beautiful piece of poetry, think many would truly enjoy it if they took the time to read it…..
    Hoping to be getting into blogging soon just still educating myself on how to truly write with interesting topics and material. Hoping to catch the eye of other bloggers…..Maybe by this weekend I can post a short blog and go from there…Have had some good advice from fellow bloggers which I greatly admire and thank for taking the time to stop and leave some great advice…Thanks to all new followers, just new at this and hoping I can put a twinkle in your eyes and a smile on your faces once I begin my journey in the blogging world….
    Until, enjoy some of my reblogs from some very talented individuals….
    Thanks, Mag Memories at Heavens Whispers…..xxoo

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Pingback: If Were Having Coffee – 4-4-2015 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  3. M-R

    Amazing thought, all of your female followers reading too much into it ! [grin]
    Happily, with someone of my age you need never worry !!!
    Nice little poem, and very nice drawing !

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      But I do love all of my female followers! And to each and every one, I’m “Always true to you in my fashion” just like Blossom Dearie singing Cole Porter. Yes, problem with love poetry on a blog is thinking, “Is she talking about me?” or I guess in this case, “Is he talking about me?” ;)
      Thanks – I really like the drawing and have been trying to find a way to reuse it for a while.

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          You have an ability to get a little deeper with your poetry than I can, but OK, I’ll accept that ;) BTW – listening/watching the video on my Kindle – cool word art – my dog, is looking at the Kindle like “that things making noises!”

          Like

          Reply
            1. trentpmcd Post author

              I bet you could. It’d take some planning and I’m sure you’d have to do a few to practice, but I bet if you plan it right. Think of doing a pure B&W portrait and go from there.

              Like

              Reply
              1. idiotwriter

                Oh there is no doubt I could :P But WHAT would I do it ON?! Not sure my landlord would be thrilled if I used the fron wall of our house… though it is the only wall painted white… hmmmmm ….. ;)

                Liked by 1 person

                Reply
                    1. trentpmcd Post author

                      A can of spray paint is cheap. Or are you saying paint will go EVERYWHERE? The splashes of color – water down the paint for those. I once picked up a Jackson Pollack paint set – it has a large canvas, watered down paints and instructions. I haven’t used it yet. Maybe this summer….

                      Like

Express Yourself

