Morning Visitors III – Poem and Pictures

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Big shape out window
Melts away when door opens
Five deer in the woods

A week ago I told you about my morning visitors.  I hear them as I leave the house in the dark and occasionally see their silvery forms scamper across the yard into the woods.

A rustling sound
Tiny hoof beats across hill
Dark shadow in the rain

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On Sunday morning I looked out of a second floor window.  Very close to the house, but at eye level I saw a big shape.  Oh, by the way, there is a big hill behind the house so the deer wasn’t magically floating in air.  I grabbed my camera.  I had to be quick because i knew my wife was taking the dogs out.  I heard the door open and grabbed a shot.  It wasn’t the best angle, but I didn’t have time to get to a better vantage.  The deer heard the door and scampered up the hill.

Later I saw it join four others.  They waited until the dogs went in and then ran to a safer place.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Silver dark shadow
Glimpse of white ghost in the trees
Morning visitor

I decided to make B&W versions of these pictures.  It gives them the silvery look I see when it’s still dark.  This is also a small answer to the B&W challenge given to me by Priorhouse blog.  I may not except her full challenge, but I will put up some B&W photos for her.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here’s the drawing I did last year.  See where I got the inspiration?

Silver Shadow

16 thoughts on “Morning Visitors III – Poem and Pictures

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      They deer are lovely. In other parts of my country people see them too often, but for me the rare glimpse is rare enough to be special. Actually, when I was growing up and saw them every day, they were still special to me :) And thanks – when the go up into the woods they’ll stop and look back to see if you’re chasing – they don’t want to run far or fast unless they have to – so it is watching, even if in a drawing.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks Sonya! Yeah, it’s cool seeing them. When I lived in Ohio they were everywhere, but it was still a thrill. Wish you had your good camera and a telephoto lens!

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! When I changed the picture to black and white I had to laugh – I had drawn the picture a year ago so was surprised at how close I caught it.

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks Ali! I live on the edge of a village so it surprises me that they come down into my back yard. There are other places, like where I grew up, were you can’t help but see deer, but they aren’t as common here. And they do seem magical as their silver forms slip away into the woods.

      Like

      Reply

Express Yourself

