Planned Work Slowdown

Selfie

The freezing rain stopped and mist was rising off of the parking lot in dragon fire tendrils.  I was doing my after-lunch laps, a routine I’ve had for most of my working life.  I’ve written at least three blog posts about the fact that I do a lot of my thinking and creative work while walking and my post-lunch walk is one of those times I let my brain have free rein.  Well, yesterday I was thinking.  That is always dangerous, me and thinking, but this time it might actually be pulling back from danger.  I decided I’m going to take a blog slowdown.  I won’t shut it down completely and I’ll still read a few posts, particularly when I really can’t do anything else, but I’ll slow down.

At the beginning of the year I made a huge list of things to do.  I’ve yet to accomplish one.  I haven’t even done more than a tentative first step, if that, on most.  What have I done?  I spend at least three hours a day every day reading blogs.   There have been weekend days I’ve spent 10 hours or more.

My blog posts take me on average less than 30 minutes to write and post.  I can easily handle that.  But I feel like a total hypocrite if I expect people to read my posts yet I don’t read theirs.  So I read as many as possible.

Also, as many of you have seen, I’ve become too obsessed with the stats.  Of course when quirky things happen, like I get no International traffic for 36 hours or my views drop by over 60%, I respond by spending even more time reading!

So anyway, if my posts slow down a little, if I’m not reading and  “liking” your posts, or if I’m not  responding to comments in a timely fashion, don’t worry, I’m just taking some Trent-time.

Pencil and “computer ink” selfie (and no Dottie, I don’t think I look like that ; ) )

35 thoughts on “Planned Work Slowdown

  1. Pingback: If Were Having Coffee – 4-4-2015 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee – 3-21-2015 | Trent's World (the Blog)

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I do like to read other blogs. There are a handful of favorites that I try to read all of the time, including yours, but trying to keep up with everything has just been a little much!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          Yes, and your poetry often takes a lot of rereading and thought! Which is a good thing. I find it rewarding to try even if I don’t get it every time, for even if I don’t get it, it forces me to think of things a little different. “Thoughts” – an appropriate name for your blog. I’ll admit that sometimes you act as my muse and I take those thoughts and put them into whatever I’m working on.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
          1. pranita patra

            That is the best comment/ complement I could have asked for as a writer, I think you have always kept me inspired to write better, as you read them, understand them and comment on them, I have always liked reading your stories and poems, the creativity you bring in into the everyday life workings, it does make me smile:)I hope to write better with time with more versatility in thoughts..:) Thank you so much.:)

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It’s just been growing way too time consuming. But I’ll still drop in and check things out once in a while and perhaps posts stuff and just ignore everyone on occasion ; )

      Like

      Reply
  3. Corina

    I hope your slow down allows you time to figure out what works best for you because if blogging is not fun, it’s not worth doing. The weekend coffee share posts are a good way to keep in touch with others and let us know what you are up to. I hope you continue doing some of those!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It’s no so much enjoyment or not as much as I haven’t been doing things that either I need to do, i.e. I’ve been slacking on responsibilities, or things that mean more to me. I’ll most likely do coffee posts most weeks : )

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      People can put in a comment they want to reach me and either put their own address here or I’ll put mine back in a comment and delete it once they see it. If you’ve never seen an e-mail from me first check your spam folder and then let me know.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. nerdinthebrain

    I totally get this. I’ll be sad to not read your posts as often, but I get it. I sometimes wonder if I’ve put my blog too high on my priority list…home school and family certainly come first, but I still hold that blog pretty high. I hope you have all sorts of time for your chosen adventures!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. alienorajt

    Good for you, Trent. I know how difficult this decision is to take – having failed to last more than a few days off myself! But I also know how necessary it is for us to remind ourselves every now and then that there is a huge and beautiful world outside the blog. Good luck with your slowdown! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Express Yourself

