Mind Dance

Trent's studio

I’ve been dancing
To music only I can hear
My moods enhancing
To the melody in my ear
My imagination always seems
To create  the music of my dreams
To make me move  when I’m chill
All but my mind perfectly still
I’ve been dancing
To music only I can hear

I don’t march to the beat of a different drummer. Marching is to stiff, too regimented. No, not me, I don’t march to the beat of a different drum. There is an art to drumming, creating patterns and colors, yet for me it is too one dimensional. So no, I don’t march to the beat of different drumming.

Me, I dance an interpretive dance to the sound of different band. The drummer is there and doesn’t hold back, but there are other sounds, other colors. A vast array of sound, sometimes a cacophony of shimmering texture, color and light as the instruments play off one another yet spin their own separate space. The riotous kaleidoscope of interplaying harmonies and braided melodies, color on color, sound on sound, moving and mixing, that is the music in my mind, that’s the music that controls my dance.

So when you see me sitting, vacant smile on my face, know that inside I’m dancing to a symphony of my mind

 

 

22 thoughts on “Mind Dance

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I won’t mention what my sister thought about my expression ; ) After all, this is a family-friendly blog. But yes, I was trying to look “serious rock star” as a joke so there is a slight pout. And if I accomplish nothing else today, if I helped to make your mind dance then I can say today was a success : )

      Like

      Reply
      1. lifeconfusions

        Haha, your photograph bore a great deal of resemblance to this :
        http://www.google.com.pk/imgres?imgurl=https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-izEmE4xckOQ/VBaS9ViAe2I/AAAAAAAAGs4/QlGfyyuaeOM/s640/blogger-image-746349925.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.thewordmedic.com/2014_09_01_archive.html&h=306&w=640&tbnid=QopmSlKs5jaRWM:&zoom=1&docid=Jx3yPfFz0mn3OM&ei=hv32VJaYAZDZaoqZgsAE&tbm=isch&ved=0CCMQMygKMAo
        This was the first thing that popped up in my head when I looked at your picture lol

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          Funny! The “I’m going to try to get a smoldering look in my eye” face is better than “I just ate something that disagreed with my stomach” that my sister suggested! I just attempted to do that picture and put it up on Instagram as a joke….

          Like

          Reply
            1. trentpmcd Post author

              I did several in row. Talk about making faces! If you thought the one I posted was creepy….. These ranged from psycho-ax-murder to “Have I got a deal for you!” to “Yes, those restraints are there for the patient’s protection. And yours.”

              Like

              Reply
  1. nerdinthebrain

    I love this! I think I’m also doing my own interpretive dance…marching simply wouldn’t allow me to swirl and twirl through life like I do. :) I’m not sure my interpretive dance is as internal as yours though. My family often laughs at me as I literally dance my way to the kitchen for coffee or to my office to grab a book. ;)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. aladywrites4u

    Music in the mind brings a wonderful joy to a day. Great hat, you look more than a little annoyed about having your photo taken though. Hee hee

    Like

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      This is the second time you’ve put up a comment and i didn’t get a notice. I was just going through my e-mail and saw it. I guess I’ll have to check all my posts to be sure.
      Hat – I love the hat. i got it in New Orleans a few years ago and wear it everywhere. If I remember correctly, you have une belle chapeau. Expression – I was trying to get some type of mock-serious bluesy snarl and it came out so comical I like it better than if it came out as intended ; )

      Like

      Reply
      1. aladywrites4u

        It’s adorable. We have the black hat club, it’s a family tradition going all the way back to the “old country” or so I am told. I wear my fedora when I’m “off the clock”

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

Express Yourself

