If We Were Having Coffee – 2/28/2015

Coffee

Hello and Welcome! From the coffee mugs you may realize we are on Cape Cod this weekend. Actually I’ve been here since Tuesday evening. Anyway, I’ll grab a Beatles’ mug from the collection and you can fill it with a strong French Roast, some tea (I don’t want to hear you only take your tea in bone china – if we were back in New Hampshire I could appease you, but not in the “camp”), hot cacao or other warm beverage. And you will want a warm beverage for the eastern seaboard is still experiencing frigid weather, though not as bad as the upper Midwest is getting today.

Beatles and Coffee

Beatles and Coffee

Some of you may have read that I had to remove the Foss McDonald Glacier when I arrived. Actually, I had made a big dent in it when I visited a couple of weeks ago. I also broke two shovels that time! And then it snowed on Wednesday and on Thursday! I haven’t been able to walk on my favorite beach, though yesterday I did find a place to walk. I’ll be heading there later today.

On the other hand, although the snow here is almost ice, there wasn’t nearly as much as in New Hampshire.  See the pictures for a comparison:

 

Implement of mass destruction

Implement of mass destruction

NH snow

NH snow

The 1000 Voices Speak for Compassion has wound down, but there still seems to be interest. You can look forward to more posts on compassion. In fact, I may change my tag line to something like “random thoughts on art and life, creativity and compassion”.   But does that tag line encompass having a new short story and a new poem every week? I’ll work on it.

Staying on blogging I’ve been driving myself crazy with the stats again. January saw a very large increase in traffic. February has been even better and I’ll end up with more views in February than January even though there are three fewer days. The strange thing, though, is my numbers have crashed this last week. That’s everything, views, visitors, likes, comments, etc. This week I averaged half of my total February average, which of course included this week, and has included my five lowest view days of the year. Like I said, driving myself crazy.

Years ago I took several drawing and painting classes but dropped it. Last year I started putting up original drawings on my blog, usually two or three a week. And then they stopped. I can’t remember the last time I posted a new drawing. That is, if it weren’t for yesterday’s post, for I did put up a new drawing to go with my short story “Thus a Great Day Was Born”, a continuation of an earlier short story.

Back at the end of last year I told you I’m going to start reviewing books put out by fellow bloggers. I’ve done a few, but not many. I know it’s been a while. I kind of got stuck and hope to start up again. I actually have six books on my Kindle and two physical books sitting waiting to be read.  Maybe not this coming week, but there will be a review very soon.

So, that’s about it. I’ve been busy, but have little to write about. I will leave you with my little personal motto for the compassion campaign:

Empathy is the glue that holds society together and compassion is what makes a group of people a civilization. Without holding our hands out to our fellow humans we become savages. We are all in this together, in a closed system, so we must all help each other. How lonely life must be for those selfish people who don’t realize this simple truth! How lonely for anyone who doesn’t realize that all are our brothers and sisters! How lonely must the self-righteous be!

And I encourage you to visit the “linky” so you can see all of the wonderful posts that were put up about compassion on February 20.

Hope you all have a great week !

Part Time Monster hosts a weekly coffee share. You can see all of the posts by using the “linky” (Note – I guess I’m a little early.  I’ll put in the links and remove this comment once the “linky” is up.)

24 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee – 2/28/2015

  1. eloisedesousa

    It’s always great to have a coffee with you Trent. That’s a huge amount of snow – can’t imagine the shovels were pleased!

    I did enjoy reading your personal motto and look forward to your compassion posts. With all the chaos happening around me, I missed your woolly mammoth and story. I shall make sure to catch up and read it soon. Have a great week and keep safe. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      The flame thrower might be a good idea, but with my luck I’d take the house with the snow.
      There is nothing better than a cup of fresh perc’ed coffee in the morning. I’m not a huge fan of drip coffee and HATE Kurig coffee.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Corina

    I rarely look at my stats. I haven’t since the first of the month but now that you mentioned it, I will probably head over there in a bit.

    I love the Beatle mugs! Now I’ll probably go out in search of a Beatle mug for myself!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I should start only looking at my stats once a month or once a week, but I’m addicted to watching them. Since you’ve been posting every day for a few months it would be interesting to see if there was a trend.
      I really lucked out finding the mugs when I did. I haven’t seen any since, though I know they are still around.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I wonder if it has something to do with how WP counts things. Or perhaps everyone just decided to take a short break from blogging. In 2 weeks we might be in the 50s F! A lot can change in 2 weeks, but still…

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Diana

    Oh my gosh, the snow! Stay safe and warm up there :)

    I love that you always share some of your mugs, and that there are so many. All of the dishes in our house match except the coffee mugs—-I just loving having lots of different ones.

    Glad you’re still thinking on the compassion posts. I think the group is going to try to do this again, but I’m not sure how long it will be until they’re ready to hold another event.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      They say Spring is on the way, but I’ll believe it when I see it.

      When we bought the cottage a discount store around the corner was having a sale on the Beatles mugs. I couldn’t resist picking up as many as I could.

      I haven’t participated in any conversations on the 1000 Speak Facebook page for a little while, but I know they were discussing having a 1000Speak event on the 20th of every month.

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
      1. Diana

        That’s funny about the Beatles mugs—difficult to resist!

        I saw that there will be more 1000Speak events, but I didn’t see that they’ll be on the 20th of each month. Whew, that’s a lot of writing!

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  4. lifeconfusions

    Man it’s been a while since I peaked at my stats, I don’t why but I stopped looking at them after few months of blogging. Perhaps it didn’t interest me anymore or maybe it was to keep myself from getting crazy. But I don’t keep up with them anymore. so don’t worry about it Trent, you’ve got yourself such a warm community here. Go with the flow…if you can! :)

    And Wow quiet a collection of mugs you’ve got there, Nice! :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I know, I shouldn’t look. At the very least i should only take a peek on occasion. I guess it’s that nerdy thing about numbers. And yes, I do enjoy the community here :)
      When we were moving into this house a discount store around the corner had all of the Beatles mugs on sale. I couldn’t resist…

      Like

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          I grew up with them and they are like “comfort music”. There is a lot of music I like a lot better, but I can put Beatles on at almost any time or place and enjoy it.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      The back is doing well, but the snow shovels… It is where the handle meets the shovel part. When I put a lot of leverage on it the plastic can’t hold up. I bought a steel shovel for the ice and make sure I don’t put too much weight on it.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. somberscribbler

    There is probably about the same amount of ice and snow here as there is there. Your looks nice and white though. It is starting to turn grey here, yuck! I loved your wooly mammoth drawing. Did you hear about the baby wooly rhino they discovered in Russia the other day? It is the first ever discovered. Who knows what else the ice and snow maybe be hiding, lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      We’re continuing to get fresh snow so it’s staying white. Also I’m not in a city in either location. In New Hampshire it’s a small village and on the Cape it’s outside of a small town.

      Thanks about the drawing. I had fun drawing it. I know they pull a lot of mammoths out of the ice in Russia but I haven’t seen the baby wooly rhino. I’ll have to search it out.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

