The Ugly American

US CapitalThis is strange – Looking at my stats I’ve only had American’s view my blog in at least 18 hours.  OK, there is one Canadian view.

I know what they say about looking at stats, and this time they are totally true, it is driving me crazy.  So far today I’ve had about the same number of Americans visit as I normally would by this time, so at least Americans are not staying away in droves.  I’ve also noticed a lot of my overseas friends putting up new posts so there has been no catastrophic event that has decimated the world outside of North America.

Of course I’m wondering if this is some strange WordPress thing.  A glitch in the system?  Since this trend started at almost the exact moment I let my blog and website* share a login perhaps I broke something at that time.  Or perhaps there is nothing I’ve posted lately that appeals to people outside of North America.

I’m sure I’ll never know.

* More about said website soon – working out some bugs.

Edit – I’ve had a few people from “away” (as people in Maine call anyone not from Maine) visit since I posted this.  I’m going to say Ali somehow broke through and fixed the issue ;)

38 thoughts on “The Ugly American

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      And you think living is more important than blogging? Where are your priorities? You’ve been busy doing your 3 Rs but I’ve still been doing my Ss. I hope your rowing and running are going well – I haven’t run in about a month so it’s going to hurt when I start back up.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          I’ve been doing a little weight training, which is relatively new, and some yoga, plus i walk everyday. Between that and all the snow related activities, my strength will be fine, but even walking does little for my cardiovascular stuff I need to keep my BP down.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
  1. thevenerable1

    Trent, if you’ve been reading what’s been happening to me, you wouldn’t wonder for half a second what was going down – you’d just say to yourself “Bloody WP – what the devil are they doing NOW ?” …

    Like

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I took your invitation and followed you. That’s the last I saw of you, you disappeared again. Then you said you were doing work on the new site, so I didn’t worry. But when you still didn’t come up… Most of the time you commented you used M-R which led me back to your book blog. Yesterday I saw your last web site’s avatar and followed it back to the new web site. Today it’s a new avatar and I had to approve it.

      A few other people were dropped around the same time. At least one was a private blog, like yours. I’m not sure what WP is doing….

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          The last few days have been full of WP technical glitches – A post I need to see never came up in my reader, I finally found it by using an old link to the persons blog. Then there are comments that don’t show up in the notification, blogs being dropped, nobody from out of the country seeing my blog for almost 24 hours, etc.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
          1. thevenerable1

            I fear we are going to be presented with something fairly ghastly soon. Or, I suppose, it’s on the cards that the WP servers have been having problems coping. Like us, quite often.

            Like

            Reply
  2. Amy Reese

    I have mostly views from the US. Have you checked the numbers too, because I noticed they don’t necessarily show up as colored in for the graphic. Interesting though, my numbers overseas have been pretty low, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      When I looked the numbers added up. Maybe I’m getting spoiled with all of the people from every corner of the globe who have been stopping in. Just one of those odd things; today I’m internationally unpopular ;)

      Like

      Reply
  3. eloisedesousa

    Sorry I haven’t been visiting this week Trent. I’m barely getting enough time to post a decent article! Hope you’ve had a great week and I’m looking forward to catching up with your blog this weekend. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I definitely wasn’t talking to you, Eloise – Reading about your mom all I can say is you have much better things to worry about than what I’ve been posting. That being said, I look forward to “seeing” you at our coffee chats this weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      A few of them are real, or at least pretend to be from somewhere else. It’s just so strange, I’ve had view counts a quarter of what I had when i put up this post and at least 1/3 of them were International (to me).

      Like

      Reply
  4. alienorajt

    I have noticed some very odd anomalies on my site too, Trent, if it’s any comfort to you: Stats which go up and down like a lady of negotiable affection’s underwear, for example. With me, it’s been the other way around: Most hits from the UK. Weird, eh?! x

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks Ali – I now have a view from England! You showed up. Yeah, it’s weird. It must be some strange WP thing. But as i said, I have about the same # of American views as usual. Hopefully you broke the curse ;)

      Like

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          Hmm, I went to your page and see a lot of British flags, only 2 Americans. Perhaps between the two of us we heal international relations, at least as far as the WP is concerned.

          Like

          Reply

Express Yourself

