Mid January on Cape Cod and Beyond

I was down on Cape Cod earlier in January and, as usual, took quite a few pictures. As you may guess, however, mid-January is not the most exciting time for photography, particularly since the weather was so awful. I did get a few OK shots. I was also playing with my Christmas present, a new lens. It’s a 1.8 F 45mm which, on a fourth-thirds camera, is used mostly as a portrait lens. So I included a few portraits of my dog Fiyero and my Cats Josephine and Albert.  The apple was also a lens test.

As always, click a picture to expand and see the detail.

Enjoy!

17 thoughts on “Mid January on Cape Cod and Beyond

          1. M-R

            Aarghh ! – I missed DUCKS ?
            That’ll bloody teach me ! I’m finalising my changeover right now, Trent; and then I’ll be checking out today’s posts PLUS your kind link ! Tenks dullink ! :)

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
            1. trentpmcd Post author

              Ooops, leave it to me to mis-read your response on my phone! I thought you said Trents ducklink! Sorry, I should have said something along the lines of “you’re welcome, I’m sure!”

              Liked by 1 person

              Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Renee can’t get one? If you want to wait until May I’ll get a portrait. But yes, I’m happy with Josie – the first good portraits I’ve gotten of her.

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Josie weighs all of 5 lbs but intimidates Fiyero. Albert has 3 legs so is often “tormented” by Fiyero. If Fiyero accidentally steps on Albert, who is 15 lbs, and Albert cries, Josie comes running to protect Albert! She chases Fiyero away.

      Like

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          There was a video on Youtube that made the rounds a few months ago. In it a dog grabs a small child and starts dragging it off as if it where a large rabbit or something. The family’s cat came rushing out like an avenging angle and chased the much bigger dog away.

          Like

          Reply
  1. kanzensakura

    These are excellent. Josie, Albert, Fiyero….what a fine crew of furbabies! The beach? I want to be there. I love the beach more in winter than summer. It has its unique beauty and interests. Those slow walks without all the raucous mayhem of summer….being able to take the time to focus on the barnacles on the stone, that perfect white oyster shell, the sepia understated beauty of the salt marsh. I can just hear, see, and smell it all. Excellent work. It was a wonderful trip for me. I’ll come back to this post again for another walk.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      There are some good points and bad about walking the beach in the winter. The bad is obviously the cold wind! And there’s not as much wildlife. The good, as you said, is the lack of crowds. of course I usually go very early in the morning in the summer and so am leaving as others arrive. And please do stop by for another walk.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

