Child’s Play (Book 1) – Music

My Piano Sings

My Piano Sings

Several years ago I followed an online music forum.  One of the things we did was post music we had written.  Somebody once posted a simple piece that had only two chords, the tonic and dominant (for non-musicians, a lot of western folk music has little more than these two chords, in the key of C it would by the C chord and the G chord).  This music was written for a music theory class to demonstrate the use of the dominant.  I read the description and listen to the music.  A light bulb came on.

(Note – I’m going to talk about the “mechanics” of the music while trying to stay non-technical.  You can skip this and just listen if you’d rather ;))

After seeing the above described music I decided to try a little test.  In my test I wrote a series of little miniatures.  I started with one in the key of C that only had the C chord.  I then moved to G and had G chord and D (tonic and dominant).  Each piece was a fifth above the preceding one and added a little harmonic complexity.  I added more complex chords, then did simple modulations to related keys and then extreme modulation using, say, the dominant as the Neapolitan of another key, etc.  I finally made my way to quartal harmony at F.I then, for good measure, threw in a piece with no chords and no key, though it is almost in C.

Of course I had to add some complexity to even the simple pieces:)

These little pieces are all in major.  I was planning on doing the same thing in minor keys starting with very complex and getting simpler down to c minor but never got around to it.  Each little ditty is from 30 seconds to a minute in length.  So the 8:44 mp actually contains 13 different pieces of music averaging less than a minute each.  I wrote this in the middle of writing my preludes, though these are more loosely connected than the preludes are.  Like the preludes these are all written for the piano.

I hope you enjoy these miniatures, which were all Child’s Play!

10 thoughts on “Child’s Play (Book 1) – Music

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Science & music? Two sides of the same coin. other sides are, of course, writing, poetry, painting, photography and perhaps even history (I won’t call myself a history nerd like you, but I’m a bit of a history buff, particularly “ancient/classical” and “high medieval”). this is a coin with a lot of sides!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks Ali! That second piece is actually something I wrote when I was in college and was using 2 monophonic synthesizers, one under each hand. For this I wrote it out and corrected all of the awful voice-leading issues….

      Like

      Reply

Express Yourself

